Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013


CD review DANTE "When Life Was Beautiful - Live in Katowice"

Veröffentlicht am 8. Mai 2017 von Markus W. in Dante, Prog Metal, Prog Rock, News, CD Review, DVD, Gentle Art Of Music, Rock, Heavy Metal, Live

(8/10) Dante is a German prog metal outfit that started back in 2006. The band from Augsburg, Germany released their debut “The Inner Circle” in 2008 and three more studio longplayers followed up till now.

What the Swabians haven’t had so far as part of their discography was a live album, a gap they fill in 2017. Actually it was in 2016 when Dante played their first show in Poland and they were that brave to record and film the show that took place in Katowice. In total there are six songs on CD 1 of this double disc package that have been recorded during this show. Next to new material Dante also harks back to classics from the early days of the band. “Vanessa” is one of these beautiful songs that unveil, over 12 minutes, the beauty of progressive metal.

The second disc was captured in their hometown Augsburg and acts as a completion when it comes to the creative work of Dante. “Rearrangement Of The Gods” and “Beautiful Again” are the only two common denominators on both CD's, the rest differs. In this way the band provides an excellent overview when it comes to their career and songs. Dante combines the finesse of Dream Theater with metallic power and cinematic soundscapes.  And since the sound on both CD's is excellent and brings the entire beauty of a Dante show right into your home.

"When Life Was Beautiful - Live in Katowice" is a thrilling live album, showcasing a band that also had times when they hit the bumpy roads without staying there. If you are interested in progressive metal music and if you haven’t heard of the band before, than it’s "When Life Was Beautiful - Live in Katowice" that gives you first good idea of what Dante is about. Fans of the band will love this live album anyhow.





DVD & CD1: „Live In Katowice“

  1. Rearrangement Of The Gods
  2. Beautiful Again
  3. Vanessa
  4. The Lone And Level Sands
  5. Until The Last Light Breaks In
  6. November Red

CD2: „When We Were Beautiful – Live“

  1. Rearrangement Of The Gods
  2. Ambitious
  3. Beautiful Again
  4. Until The Last Light Breaks In
  5. Let Me Down
  6. Sad Today
  7. Finally


Label: Gentle Art Of Music

Genre: Progressive Metal

Release Date EU: April 28th, 2017

CD review DANTE "When Life Was Beautiful - Live in Katowice"

DVD review ACCEPT "Restless and Live"

Veröffentlicht am 4. Januar 2017 von Markus W. in Accept, Heavy Metal, Power Metal, Classic Rock, NWoBHM, CD Review, DVD, Nuclear Blast, Live

(8/10) It was in 2009 when German metal legend Accept returned on stage and I can remember having seen them live at one of their first shows in Uden, Netherlands around the same time (I think is was in spring 2010). The guys built their set mainly on old classics with, if I have it right in mind, two new songs (Pandemic” and “Teutonic Terror”). It was impressive to see them in such a small venue that was turned into a madhouse by the German metal dinosaurs.

In the meantime we're seven years further down the road with Accept releasing three great studio albums. With these new songs plus a backpack full of excellent classics it was the right moment in time for recording a new live album/DVD. The scenery was easily found. Accept played a headliner show on the 2015 Bang Your Head festival, which was chosen to be the one for this live album.

Considering the fact that guitarist Uwe Lulis and drummer Christopher Williams joined the band shortly before it, was a brave decision to record this headliner show. It wasn't less than the first gig of the two new band members in Germany. But in case there have been some concerns beforehand, the show and the live release proves that potential doubts were without any reason.

Accept nailed down an energetic and heavy show that included everything a fan could ask for. “Fast as a Shark”, Metal Heart” and “Restless and Wild” have been excessively celebrated by the crown and also the new stuff (“Stampede”, "Dying Breed”,..) fit perfectly into the setlist.

Of course it was the ‘big three’ that stood a bit more in the focus. Tornillo is more than just a singer. He’s a real front man and entertainer. Next to that it's Hoffmann’s riffs and solos that are more than just an ingredient for the bands sound, it’s Accept’s signature. Breathtaking also the duel between Baltes and Hoffmann during “No Shelter” and it goes without saying that fans sang enthusiastically during “Princess of the Dawn”.

“Restless and Live” brings an Accept headliner show right into your living room, a concert that was done by a band that played tight and powerful. Like mentioned earlier, worries about recording a show with two new band members were blown away with the first riff blown into Balingen’s evening sky.

The album title includes ‘restless’. The band is restless and there is no end in sight, which is good news for 2017 and the years to come.





  1. Stampede
  2. Stalingrad
  3. London Leatherboys
  4. Restless and Wild
  5. Dying Breed
  6. Final Journey
  7. Shadow Soldiers
  8. Losers and Winners
  9. 200 Years
  10. Midnight Mover
  11. No Shelter
  12. Princess of the Dawn
  13. Dark Side of My Heart
  14. Pandemic
  15. Fast as a Shark
  16. Metal Heart
  17. Teutonic Terror
  18. Balls to the Walls


Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: January 13th, 2017

DVD review ACCEPT "Restless and Live"

POWERWOLF DVD and cinema event

Veröffentlicht am 21. Mai 2016 von Markus W. in Powerwolf, Heavy Metal, Power Metal, News, Video, Movie, DVD

Powerwolf is one of the most successful metal bands from Germany right here and now. Six records led to a constantly growing amount of fans which celebrated the band during various tours and festivals.

One thing that is missing is a live DVD. This gap will be closed with "The Metal Mass Live". Powerwolf will present on July 28th the "Masters of Rock 2015 Show". Here are the CineStar locations:


POWERWOLF DVD and cinema event

New TESTAMENT DVD in October

Veröffentlicht am 16. August 2013 von Markus W. in Testament, Thrash Metal, News, DVD

Testament are working on a new DVD/BluRay with the title "Dark roots of thrash". The Bay Area thrash veterans have taped a show in the Paramount in Huntington NY last February. The DVD will be released on October 11 in Europe and on October 15 in North America via Nuclear Blast.

"Dark roots of thrash" is also available as CD. 

The tracks are:

  1. Intro
  2. Rise up
  3. More than meets the eye
  4. Burnt offerings
  5. Native blood
  6. True American hate
  7. Dark roots of earth
  8. Into the pit
  9. Practice what you preach
  10. Riding the snake
  11. Eyes of wrath
  12. Trial by fire
  13. The haunting
  14. The new order
  15. Do not resuscitate
  16. Three days in darkness
  17. The formation of damnation
  18. Over the wall
  19. Disciples of the watch
Photo: Dean Karr

Photo: Dean Karr


ACCEPT working on a live DVD and new album

Veröffentlicht am 16. Juni 2013 von mwie in Accept, Heavy Metal, DVD

German metal band Accept is working on a DVD. They professionally filmed the concert on 12.04.13 in the Teatro Caupolican in Chile.

Furthermore Wolf Hoffmann stated that the band is also working on a new album and hopes to enter the studio soon. Hoffmann said in an interview for 'Radio Futuro':

"We're currently gathering material. We're writing stuff actively, so give us a few more months, and hopefully, by end of the year, we'll have enough material to actually start working on a new studio album. But it won't be long. I can't guarantee when exactly it's gonna be happening, but we wanna definitely go back to the studio as soon as we can."

ACCEPT working on a live DVD and new album