Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review DEEP PURPLE "inFinite"

Veröffentlicht am 5. April 2017 von Markus W. in Deep Purple, News, CD Review, earMusic, Hardrock, Rock, Classic Rock, Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Ian Paice

(9/10) I think that there's no one who doesn’t know Deep Purple. And even the ones that lived under a rock for the last 4 decades of rock at least heard a classic rock song called “Smoke on the Water”. Ian Gillan and Co. are belonging to the generation of bands that has been, and still are, main influencers when it comes to rock and metal music. Having released their debut back in 1968, followed by many highlights in rock history, showcases the level of experience and importance that Deep Purple had over all these 49 years with hopefully no end in sight.

A few years ago the living legend rock released with “NOW What?” an excellent studio album that’s now topped by the highly anticipated 20th longplayer. “inFinite” hits the shelves on April 7th and comes via earMUSIC, featuring ten new songs of the British rock legend.

“Time for Bedlam” starts in an unusual way. The song, that’s also the first single, beginss with Ian Gillan’s voice that’s slightly distorted by a voice effect. After a few notes the track evolves to a grooving Deep Purple that reflects the more temporary Deep Purple.  

Don Airey’s keyboards and the typical Deep Purple guitar lines are the foundation of the rocking “Hip Boots” while the soulful start of “All I got is You” acts almost like a well placed counterpart to the rocking swing of “Hip Boots”. Gillan shows again why he belongs to best singers in rock and hardrock. OK, the high pitch screams might not be present anymore, but the charismatic frontman has still so much feel in his voice that became a trademark of the band over all these years. Accompanied by Steven Morse singing guitar and Airey keyboards “All I got is You” belongs to the best tunes I’ve heard from the band over the last years.

Two spot-on tracks follow this more epical sound experience. “One Night in Vegas” focusses on the essence without being puristic. The track includes this warm and organic vibe that’s very much supported by the embedded piano sounds. Deep Purple shows with “inFinite” that rock’n’roll isn’t a matter of age. It’s about passion and dedication for what you’re doing and if this falls together with skills and creativity record like “inFinite” are the logical consequence.  “Get me Outta Here” is one of ten proofs, a song that gets out of the gates by powerful drum beats of Ian Paice. The tune itself is a grooving mid-tempo one at full strength.

Keyboards, reminding of an outer space experience, kicks off “The Surprising”, a song that belongs to the balladic milestones on this longplayer. It’s beautiful number that spans over a length of six minutes including a great guitar solo, reminding of the earlier days. There is a bit of a gloomy undertone weaved into this quiet and harmonic track which feels like an extra spice.

After such a more epical journey it’s time for some more rocking stuff. You want it, you get it. “Johnny’s Band” is a catchy four minute track that feels light-hearted and immediately sticks to your mind . It's a typical Deep Purple mid-pace song, “On the Top of the World” blends into “Birds of Prey”. The band reduces the speed and adds some complexity which gives the track a prog expression. This song is a bit different and that's the beauty of it.

The grand finale is bringing the blues to the forefront with one legend covering a classic from another legend. “Roadhouse Blues”, originally by the The Doors, is an extremely cool song with an embedded blues vibe which makes this tune to a real treat for fans of rock and rolling music. Deep Purple’s interpretation is a glorious ending of an album that show the five gentlemen at their best.

Deep Purple’s newest masterpiece is another shining pearl in the bands discography. Deep Purple was and is Deep Purple - a 100%. These guys developed their sound over many many years and it’s amazing how many small twists and tweaks they added in order to keep the level of excitement high; from the first to the final note. Considering the album title “inFinite” and the tour header “The Long Goodbye Tour” can be interpreted in various ways, but one thing is for certain: Deep Purple in such a shape and form needs to stay in rock.





  1. Time Fro Bedlam
  2. Hip Boots
  3. All I Got is You
  4. One Night in Vegas
  5. Get Me Outta Here
  6. The Surprising
  7. Johnny's Band
  8. On the Top of the World
  9. Birds of Prey
  10. Roadhouse Blues


Label: earMusic

Genre: Hardrock

Release Date EU: March 7th, 2017

CD review DEEP PURPLE "inFinite"