Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review ECLIPSE "Monumentum"

Veröffentlicht am 6. April 2017 von Markus W. in Eclipse, Melodic Metal, Heavy Metal, Hardrock, News, CD Review, Frontiers Music, Rock

(8/10) 2 years after having published their latest longplayer “Armageddon”, Swedish melodic metal outfit Eclipse has a new records in the blocks. Erik Maårtensson, Magnus Henriksson, Philip Crunser and Magnus Ulfstedt wrote eleven new songs, at least that the amount of melodic rock anthems that made it on the tracklist of “Monumentum”. The new longplayer is number seven since the band started in 1999.

“Monumentum” starts furious. It’s a surprisingly heavy riff and a galloping rhythm that kicks-off the album. These elements stay throughout, being completed by some melodic vocal lines that are presented by a highly motivated Erik Mårtensson who's obviously in good form. The journey through melodic rock and metal continues with  “Never Look Back” which reminded me of Gotthard. With “Killing Me” the quartet keeps on rocking even though they added more catchiness to the tune. To complete the entire spectrum of “Monumentum” I have to mention “The Downfall of Eden” which in the solo part in the middle that's Gary Moore-inspired. Last but not least the album has a powerballad too. “Hurt” is the name of this more soulful number that sounds good but also a bit off the rack.

Eclipse is best when they unleash the heavier guitar sound like on “Born to Lead” the mighty closer “Black Rain” which is grooving smasher that puts a spell on you.

Eclipse shows again why they are a crucial player in the fields of melodic metal. The Swedes have a sense from merging heaviness with catchy melodies and great hooklines. Maybe “Monumentum” isn’t a full monument but it’s for sure a very strong build powerhouse that has a highly entertaining inside.





  1. Vertigo
  2. Never Look Back
  3. Killing Me
  4. The Downfall of Eden
  5. Hurt
  6. Jaded
  7. Born to Lead
  8. For Better of For Worse
  9. No Way Back
  10. Night Comes Crawling
  11. Black Rain


Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: March 24th, 2017

CD review ECLIPSE "Monumentum"