Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review SPIDERS "Shake electric"

Veröffentlicht am 1. November 2014 von Markus W. in Spiders, Hardrock, Rock, Alternative Rock, CD Review, News

(9/10) Gothenburg seems to be a creative hub that brings so many new exciting bands up to the surface that it becomes almost scary.

Spiders is on of those bands. And the band doesn't play death metal. Yes, there are Gothenburg guys playing other music too. Spiders has an exciting mix of classic rock with some metal and some punk elements. Their music is simple, in the best meaning of the word, and they benefit a lot from their singer Ann-Sofie Hoyles. Hoyles is together with Delila Paz from The Last International one of the best newcomers this year. Her voice is amazing.

She has this typical rock'n'roll timbre. She sings very melodic by still having this smoky aspect in her voice. Together with warm and dynamic music it becomes a melanche that is irresistable. 

"Shake electric" is the second album of the band after they have released the debut "Flash point" in 2012.

All tunes on the album are tracks are outstanding. There is no real filler. Highlights in my point of view are the very groovy opener "Mad dog" with the great guitar riff, the galopping fast "Control", the soulful "Hard times" that shows the whole range of Hoyles voice and last but not least the classic rocker "War of the world" that brings you right back into the 70's. 

"Shake electric" shows why rock'n'roll is such an awesome music style. I would like you to give this album a chance. It is one of the best ones I have heard this year.





  1. Mad dog
  2. Shake electric
  3. Bleeding heart
  4. Only your skin
  5. Lonely nights
  6. Back on the streets
  7. Control
  8. Give up the fight
  9. Hard times
  10. War of the world


Label: Spinefarm Records

Genre: Alternative Rock

CD review SPIDERS "Shake electric"