Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review EINHERJER "Av oss, for oss"

Veröffentlicht am 31. Oktober 2014 von Markus W. in Einherjer, Viking Metal, Heavy Metal, Black Metal, Death Metal, CD Review, News

(7/10) The waves break on the beach, some acostic guitar sounds take over and orchestra samples join in - the introduction to the new Einherjer album couldn't fit better. The percussion sound gives the rhythm for the rowing viking ship that comes across the ocean. What a start.

As one of the dinosaurs of viking metal Einherjer is around already since quite some years. The Norwegian guys started already mid of the ninties and released their debut in 1995. After a longer break the band returned in 2011 with "Norrøn". Now, three years later, the next album is ready. "Av oss, for oss" is the name of the silver disc that contains eight songs.

The tracks are based on the Norse heritage. It's adventures, craftsmen and poets that inspred the trio. And all is coming back in their songs. There are the melodies that could have been written by the poets, there is the power that is crucial for the craftsmen and the self-confidence of the adventurer that come back in each of the viking anthems from Einherjer.

What I like with their music are the rough vocals of Frode Glesnes and the simple but effective song structure which brings each of the tracks right to the point. My personal highlight on the album is "Nidstong" - a track that lives from almost endless repetitions making the song almost hypnotical.

What I think is a bit of a downer with "Av oss, for oss" is the fact that the songs sound very similar. Einherjer doesn't really leave their general pattern. Each song itself is a good one, but since it is too much of the same the music loses the attractivness. It seems that the vikings are just cruising in the Baltic Sea. But in reality they also have been the first ones in North America. This ambition of discovering new worlds would have been also benefitial for "Av oss, for oss".

However, a good album with a mystical expression and avoidance of too much (troll-) cliches. Heritage inspired authentic viking metal, played rough and mean.  A solid album with hopefully a few more experiments next time.





  1. Fremad
  2. Hammer i kors
  3. Nidstong
  4. Hedensk oppstandelse
  5. Nord og ner
  6. Nornene
  7. Trellsom
  8. Av oss, for oss


Label: Indie Recordings

Genre: Viking Metal

CD review EINHERJER "Av oss, for oss"