Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review CRAZY LIXX "Crazy Lixx"

Veröffentlicht am 20. November 2014 von Markus W. in Crazy Lixx, Hardrock, Rock, CD Review, News, Def Leppard, Kiss, Motley Crue

(8/10) Crazy Lixx are big fans from bands like Kiss, Mötley Crüe and Aerosmith. At least listening to their music gives you this impression. The band from Malmö, Sweden plays sleaze rock that brings you back to the glorious days in the 80's. Not for nothing one of their tracks is called "Girls of the 80's". Sounds like red lips, short skirts and curly long hair
Founded in 2002 by singer Danny Rexon, Vic Zino and Joel Cicera Crazy Lixx released in total four records. The latest one is called "Crazy Lixx". According to Danny Rexon none of the other proposed names fitted that well as doing a self-titled album. It represents the band and their music best. So why not calling it simply "Crazy Lixx".
The eleven songs on the album are pure hardrock anthems like the opener "Hell raising women". The start into the album couldn't be better. The five-piece band doesn't take any prisoners. The crunchy guitars and a anthemic melodies are a real kickstart for the album. "All looks, no hooks" follows the same pattern. The song might not 'look' but has definitely some hooks. And those stick. The same goes for "Ain't no rest in rock'n'roll" which, I guess, will become a standard part of their live setlists.
But Crazy Lixx also has a more melodic rock side. "Heroes forever" is one of those tracks. The track got a catchy melody and a chorus that is made for sing-a-long.
The album doesn't have the obligatory ballad that you might expect. It's full of rock'n'roll and even "Outlaw", with the more silent parts, rocks pretty well.
And last but not least the already mentioned "Girls of the 80's" that sounds like a merge of Def Leppard, Poison and Kiss (in this time).
I like the album since it has a high entertainment factor. Music that comes over as real and fresh. An energizer in autumn.



  1. Hell raising women
  2. Sound of the loud minority
  3. Outlaw
  4. Girls of the 80's
  5. I missed the mark
  6. All looks no hooks
  7. Ain't no rest in rock'n'roll
  8. Call to action
  9. Heroes are forever
  10. Psycho city
  11. Wrecking ball crew

Label: Frontiers Records
Genre: Hardrock


CD review CRAZY LIXX "Crazy Lixx"