Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

crazy lixx

CD review CRAZY LIXX "Ruff Justice"

Veröffentlicht am 4. Mai 2017 von Markus W. in Crazy Lixx, Hardrock, Sleaze Rock, Rock, News, CD Review, Frontiers Music

(7/10) Crazy Lixx is one of Malmo’s most important hardrock export article these days. The five-piece group celebrates their 15th band anniversary this year, a time in which they published four albums plus a new one that's entitles “Ruff Justice”.

The longplayer comes with ten new songs of which two have appeared on the ”Friday the 13th” videogame soundtrack earlier. The two tracks are the darker but melodic “Killer” that varies a bit when it comes to sound. The second one is the catchy closer “Live Before I Die” which follows the recipe for success that already the early Bon Jovi used effectively. Melodies and hooks are supporting each other, acting as an extra layer of sugar glaze on a tasty cake.

The best song of the album is placed in the middle of the ‘batting order’. “Hunter of the Heart” might not be a homerun but it’s the solid two-base hit on the album. It’s a tune with unleashed guitars that are balanced with good melodies, all getting across in an energetic way that revitalizes the 80’s. Crazy Lixx are best when shifting gears. The up-tempo “Kiss of Judas” is such a song that belongs, together with the mentioned “Hunter of the Heart”, to the highlights on this longplayer.

These songs shine even more while competing with some average rock songs that are too much dressed for success. “Walk the Wire” became too trivial and also “Snakes in Paradise” uses the standard Cookie-cutter approach, missing the ease and soul. The tunes are nicely done but far away from a breath-taking experience.

“Ruff Justice” is a record with a certain entertaining factor but also misses the moments that make the album stick in your memory.





  1. Wild Child
  2. XIII
  3. Wake the Wire
  4. Shot With a Needle of Love
  5. Killer
  6. Hunter of the Heart
  7. Snakes oi Paradise
  8. If It's Love
  9. Kiss of Judas
  10. Live Before I Die


Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Hardrock

Release Date EU: April 21st, 2017

CD review CRAZY LIXX "Ruff Justice"

CD review CRAZY LIXX "Sound of the LIVE Minority"

Veröffentlicht am 19. Juli 2016 von Markus W. in Crazy Lixx, Rock, Hardrock, News, CD Review, Sleaze Rock, Classic Rock

(7/10) Sometimes a view on the cover is enough for having the right expectations. Crazy Lixx newest output is one of these releases that gives you an immediate idea of what you gonna get to hear after having pressed the 'play' button.

Indeed, hardrock with a certain sleaze touch, all based on the eighties Hollywood sound. Motley Crue, Ratt and others have delivered the inspiration for Crazy Lixx, a band that it around already since 2002.

The guys from Malmo release with "Sound of the LIVE Minority" their first live album after having published four studio albums. To me surprise the disc wasn't recorded in Sweden. It was the Bang Your Head open air in Balingen, Germany that was chosen to be the scenery for this recording.

"Sound of the LIVE Minority" is a well-done retrospective on more than 10 years of Crazy Lixx that features the bands milestones, all on one album. It's definitely good time rock music that you get with this live record, something that works perfectly on a sunny summer day and it's a great summary of Crazy Lixx work so far. Therefore it's an excellent entry point for everybody who has missed the guys so far.





  1. Intro
  2. Rock and a Hard Place
  3. Blame it on Love
  4. Sound of the Loud Minority
  5. Riot Avenue
  6. Call to Action
  7. Road to Babylon
  8. My Medicine (R.O.C.K)
  9. Girls of the 80's (+ intro for Heroes are Forever)
  10. Heroes are Forever
  11. Whiskey Tango Foxtrot
  12. 21' Til I Die


Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Hardrock

Release Date EU: July 8th, 2016

CD review CRAZY LIXX "Sound of the LIVE Minority"

CD review CRAZY LIXX "Crazy Lixx"

Veröffentlicht am 20. November 2014 von Markus W. in Crazy Lixx, Hardrock, Rock, CD Review, News, Def Leppard, Kiss, Motley Crue

(8/10) Crazy Lixx are big fans from bands like Kiss, Mötley Crüe and Aerosmith. At least listening to their music gives you this impression. The band from Malmö, Sweden plays sleaze rock that brings you back to the glorious days in the 80's. Not for nothing one of their tracks is called "Girls of the 80's". Sounds like red lips, short skirts and curly long hair
Founded in 2002 by singer Danny Rexon, Vic Zino and Joel Cicera Crazy Lixx released in total four records. The latest one is called "Crazy Lixx". According to Danny Rexon none of the other proposed names fitted that well as doing a self-titled album. It represents the band and their music best. So why not calling it simply "Crazy Lixx".
The eleven songs on the album are pure hardrock anthems like the opener "Hell raising women". The start into the album couldn't be better. The five-piece band doesn't take any prisoners. The crunchy guitars and a anthemic melodies are a real kickstart for the album. "All looks, no hooks" follows the same pattern. The song might not 'look' but has definitely some hooks. And those stick. The same goes for "Ain't no rest in rock'n'roll" which, I guess, will become a standard part of their live setlists.
But Crazy Lixx also has a more melodic rock side. "Heroes forever" is one of those tracks. The track got a catchy melody and a chorus that is made for sing-a-long.
The album doesn't have the obligatory ballad that you might expect. It's full of rock'n'roll and even "Outlaw", with the more silent parts, rocks pretty well.
And last but not least the already mentioned "Girls of the 80's" that sounds like a merge of Def Leppard, Poison and Kiss (in this time).
I like the album since it has a high entertainment factor. Music that comes over as real and fresh. An energizer in autumn.



  1. Hell raising women
  2. Sound of the loud minority
  3. Outlaw
  4. Girls of the 80's
  5. I missed the mark
  6. All looks no hooks
  7. Ain't no rest in rock'n'roll
  8. Call to action
  9. Heroes are forever
  10. Psycho city
  11. Wrecking ball crew

Label: Frontiers Records
Genre: Hardrock


CD review CRAZY LIXX "Crazy Lixx"