Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review AVATARIUM "All I want" EP

Veröffentlicht am 27. November 2014 von Markus W. in Avatarium, Doom Metal, Heavy Metal, Classic Rock, News, CD Review

(9/10) Stockholm in 2012 - a new band joins the metal world. Avatarium. Yes, they have been new, but their members are very experienced guys. Actually it was Candlemass' Leif Edling who started the band. But with Marcus Jidell, Carl Westholm and Lasse Skoeld he added also very well known musicians. And Avatarium has with Jennie-Ann Smith a singer that is very unique in the world of metal. What she can do with her voice is amazing. It is pure emotion when she sings. For a long time I haven't heard a voice that transports emotions in such a authentic and intense way.

The debut if the band was simply called "Avatarium" and was highlight in 2013. For me one of the best records last year. Furthermore I had the chance to see the band on their first show outside of Scandinavia. They played in spring this year in Tilburg at the Roadburn festival and I can tell you the live performance was as good as the record (by the way, they are on tour in December together with Amorphis). The proof are the three live recordings on this EP, since all of them are from the mentioned show.

Avatarium works on their second longplayer, but in the meantime they released an EP with two new songs. "All I want" and "Deep well" are the names and both continue where "Avatarium" ended. "All I want" is a melodic doom song with some classic metal roots. A treat for your ears. The second song is a more silent one that reminds a bit to the band hymn "Moonhorse" - at least in parts. Along the way the song becomes more heavy and develops to a solemn doom beast.

"All I want" is another brilliant release from an outstanding band. And a great bridge till the new album will see the light of day. Looking forward to see them live again.

 

(9/10)

 

Tracklist:

  1. All I want
  2. Deep well
  3. Pandora's egg (live)
  4. Tides of telepathy (live)
  5. Bird of prey (live)

 

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Doom Metal

CD review AVATARIUM "All I want" EP