Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review DRIVING MRS. SATAN "Did You Mrs. Me?"

Veröffentlicht am 1. März 2016 von Markus W. in Driving Mrs. Satan, Slayer, Megadeth, Rock, Acoustic, Heavy Metal, Thrash Metal, CD Review, News

(*/10) The idea isn't new, the result is fun and some people love it while others can't deal with it at all. I'm talking about acoustic pop/rock bands, re-arranging metal tracks which gives the songs a totally new and different expression.

Hellsongs from Sweden did this already many years ago by releasing records like "Lounge", "Hymns in the Key of 666" and "Piece of Heaven, a Glimpse of Hell".

The newest act that is following this idea is Italian four-piece Driving Mrs. Satan from Naples. The guys take, for the second time ("Popscotch" was released in 2013), songs like thrash anthems from Megadeth ("Peace Sells") and Slayer's "Raining Blood" and twist them into acoustic singer-songwriter tunes. The sometimes positive, almost swinging vibe, combined with mean and evil lyrics sounds funny and is entertaining. It's just that the idea itself isn't new.

In case you missed Hellsongs you can go for Driving Mrs. Satan for listening to metal tracks in a 'new dress'. For the ones having the Hellsong releases, I must say that you don't get much new stuff and metalheads that just want to listen to the originals the verdict is obvious anyhow: Hands off.

Fun, entertaining, well produced and not really essential - that's "Did You Mrs. Me?".





  1. Hungry For Heaven
  2. Iron Man
  3. Caught Somewhere in Time
  4. For Whom the Bell Tolls
  5. Antisocial (english version)
  6. Running Free
  7. Peace Sells
  8. The Unknown Knowns
  9. Raining Blood
  10. Eyes of a Stranger
  11. To Hell and Back


Label: Agualoca Records

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: March 4th, 2015

CD review DRIVING MRS. SATAN "Did You Mrs. Me?"