Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review BONFIRE "Glörious"

Veröffentlicht am 21. April 2015 von Markus W. in Bonfire, Rock, Heavy Metal, Hardrock, News, Classic Rock, CD Review

(8/10) There are two things I wouldn't have thought they would ever happen, even though the band always stayed alive. The first thing is a new Bonfire studio album and second one is that it will be a extraordinary good record.

But life surprises you sometimes. There is a new album from the Ingolstadt-based band. "Glörious" is a kind of second spring time. And it contains eleven new hardrockers that are really worth to listen to. It feels like the band benefits from a kind of fountain of youth on "Glörious".

The mainman behind Bonfire is founding member Hans Ziller. The guy never gave up and kept the band alive, in good times and bad times. The new longplayer shows that this was worth the effort. And I think it is singer David Reece who contributed with a fresh breeze to the sound of the band.

The new tracks are hardrockers somewhere anchored between the 80's Kiss and Deep Purple. It is esp. that voice of Reece that sounds somtimes a bit like Ian Gillan and Paul Stanley. Combined with the full sound on the album "Glörious" is a real enegergizer that helps you to get over your spring fever.  

"21 guns salute (goes boom)" belongs to the highlights on "Glörious". Keyboards an guitar introduce the rocker that could come right from the 80's. Early I mentioned some cross-references to Kiss and this track is underlining it. Things get much faster on "Nothin' at all". It is the later Rainbow that shines thorugh here and there. 

Even the acoustic ballad belongs to the outstanding tunes. "Fallin' out of love" refers back to the classic rock times and is a soulful song that is touching. This is big entertainment and it's again Reece vocals that give the song the needed extra.

"Glörious" instead is a metal anthem with a catchy chorus and a laid back verse. This song sticks immediatley and the right chosen one for being the title track.

Also the two known songs, "Sweet obsession" and "American nights" gained compared to the original version (which have been cool songs already). The last track is The Beatles cover of "With a little help of my friend" that got a very bluesy arrangement which is a 100% fit. This version doesn't need to stand back behind the original and the mighty Joe Cocker version.

"Glörious" is a great album that can stand in line with the first three releases of the band. Bonfire in such a shape has the potential to connect again to former successes. The first tour through Germany is planned and I hope that they also get some more attention outside their home country. Thumbs up.





  1. 21 guns salute (goes boom)
  2. Nothin' at all
  3. Can't beak away
  4. Remember
  5. Falloin' outta love
  6. Glorious
  7. Supernatural disguise
  8. Shooting star
  9. Lies
  10. Put out the flames
  11. Free wind desperado
  12. Sweet obsession
  13. American nights
  14. With a little help of my friends


Label: Borila Rekords

Genre: Hardrock

CD review BONFIRE "Glörious"