Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review AXEL RUDI PELL "Magic moments - 25 anniversary special show"

Veröffentlicht am 21. April 2015 von Markus W. in Axel Rudi Pell, Steeler, Heavy Metal, Power Metal, Classic Rock, Rock, News, CD Review, Live

(*/10) I still can remember when a friend of mine recommended an album to me in school from a new German metal band. Their name: Steeler. I first thought about the band from Yngwie Malmsteen, but they haven't been from Germany. However, he gave me the vinyl with five guys drawn on the cover. The name of the album was/is "Strike back" and I felt in love with what I heard. It was the time of Pretty Maids' "Red, hot and heavy" and Steeler's sound went into the same direction. The next album "Undercover animal" was even better but sad enough, the band disbanded in 1989.

But the axeman of Steeler continued and started a fabulous solo career. His name: Axel Rudi Pell. Why do I mention all this? Because it took till 2014 for the guys to come together for playing some songs from the good old times - live on stage. "Night after night", Rockin' the city" and "Undercover animal" filled the summer night in 2014 when Axel Rudi Pell performed his 25th anniversary show as part of the Bang Your Head festival in Balingen, Germany. It was great to hear those songs again and I still wish that the Steeler guys would re-record the two mentioned milestones in German metal history. I don't think it will happen, but there is always hope.

Next to that "Magic moments - 25th anniversary special show" has much more to offer than only a smaller Steeler reunion. Basically Axel Rudi Pell performed a wide selection of ARP classics that cover early tracks like "Nasty reputation" from the debut up to new material like "Into the storm" from the latest studio record. Last but not least a few cover songs have been played as well. Deep Purple's "Black night", with Ronnie Atkins from Pretty Maids, made the fans freak out. Graham Bonnet came on stage for singing "Since you've been gone" and the show was finished with nothing less than the mighty hardrock hymn "Smoke on the water".

Next to the great musical journey through metal Axel Rudi Pell invited also many friends to the party for performing the tunes together with him. Rob Rock has been there as well as Jeff Scott Soto. Joerg Michael had a drum performance and Vinnie Appice and Bobby Rondinelli had a fantastic drum battle in the last third of the show.

A birthday party couldn't be much better than this. Cheers and to the next 25 years.


PS: The DVD/BluRay also includes "The rehearsals" and comes with 255 minutes running time. But since I only can refer to the audio version I can't tell you much more than this about the extra.





  1. Call her princess
  2. Night after night
  3. Rockin' the city
  4. Undercover animal
  5. Nasty reputation
  6. Warrior
  7. Fool fool
  8. Burning chains
  9. Strong as a rock
  10. Long way to go
  11. Hey hey my my
  12. Mystica
  13. Into the storm
  14. Too late / Eternal prisoner / Too late
  15. The masquerade ball / Casbah
  16. Rock the nation
  17. Drum battle
  18. Black night
  19. Sympathy
  20. Tush
  21. Mistreated
  22. Since you've been gone
  23. Long live rock'n'roll
  24. Smoke on the water


Label: Steamhammer/SPV

Genre: Heavy Metal


CD review AXEL RUDI PELL "Magic moments - 25 anniversary special show"