Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review SLEEP OF MONSTERS "Produces reason"

Veröffentlicht am 7. Oktober 2014 von Markus W. in Sleep Of Monsters, Dark Metal, Rock, Alternative Metal, CD Review, News, Sisters Of Mercy, HIM, Waltari

(7/10) Another band from Finland. They are called Sleep Of Monsters and their debut album "Produces reason" is available in their homecountry since quite a while. Now the band wants to take the next step and release "Produces reason" also in other countries.

The musicians aren't totally unknown guys. We have Janne Immonen at the keyboards, who is known from Waltari. Singer Ike Vil is belonging to the Babylon Whores and drummer Pätkä Rantala was part of HIM's mighty debut album.

The music of the sextett can be described as a mix out of dark metal, dark rock and a bit of post-punk. The result sound quite good, eventhough it is not 'never heard before' stuff. But Sleep Of Monsters have the sense for combining a creepy atmosphere ("Murder she wrote") with big melodies ("Christonsonday" and "Through a mirror darkly").

The opener "Nihil nihil nihil" sounds with the catchy melody like one of the harder HIM tunes mixed with a bit Sisters Of Mercy. And with "Magic without tears" the Finns open the door to a dark and gloomy world. A song for the month of November....

All in all "Produces reason" is a good debut album of a band that has the potential to catch some attention also outside of Finland. Let's see what the future will bring.





  1. Holy holy holy
  2. Nihil nihil nihil
  3. Abomination street
  4. Muder she wrote
  5. Our svage gold
  6. Christsonday
  7. Horses of the sun
  8. Through a mirror darky
  9. Cobwebs of your mind
  10. Magic without tears
  11. I am the night color me black


Label: Svart Records

Genre: Dark Metal


CD review SLEEP OF MONSTERS "Produces reason"