Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013


CD review WE SELL THE DEAD "Heaven Doesn't Want You and Hell is Full"

Veröffentlicht am 16. Februar 2018 von Markus W. in We Sell The Dead, In Flames, Spiritual Beggars, HIM, Modern Metal, Modern Rock, News, earMUSIC, Heaven Doesn't Want You and Hell is Full, CD Review

CD review WE SELL THE DEAD "Heaven Doesn't Want You and Hell is Full"

(8/10) You might not heard of this band before and therefor we need to have a look into who these guys are. Actually we are talking about well-known names in rock and metal. We Sell The Dead is no less than Niclas Engeling (In Flames), Gas Lipstick (ex-HIM), Jonas Slättung (Drömrikets) and Apollo Papathanasio (Spiritual Beggars, Firewind).

The overarching question that led to this outfit was: What, if Jack the Ripper would have been part of a band? In a metal band? This was the starting point for We Sell The Dead and their debut "Heaven Doesn't Want You and Heaven is Full".

The album sounds very interesting, which is meant in a positive way. I have to admit that I had a bit of problems to find my way into We Sell The Dead's sound. The first time I listened to it wasn't a thrilling exercise. However, there are records that need to grow and this one belongs into this category. 

Contemporary heavy metal is what you can expect of the nine songs that made it on the tracklist. These tracks are linked to each other with a common theme being the bridge. "Heaven Doesn't Want You and Heaven is Full" takes you back to the 19th century when the mentioned Jack the Ripper was up to mischief. This theme leads to morbid and dark expression on the album, starting with the creepy intro "The Body Market".

"Heaven Doesn't Want You and Heaven is Full" is an unusual album that doesn't remind of 'home-base' bands like In Flames and Spiritual Beggars. We Sell The Dead created their own sound and signature, built on their individual path through rock and metal. 





  1. The Body Market
  2. Echoes of an Ugly Past
  3. Leave Me Alone
  4. Imagine
  5. Turn it Over
  6. Too Cold to Touch
  7. Trust
  8. Pale and Perfect
  9. Silent Scream


Label: earMUISC

Genre: Modern Metal

Release Date EU: February 23rd, 2018


CD review SLEEP OF MONSTERS "Produces reason"

Veröffentlicht am 7. Oktober 2014 von Markus W. in Sleep Of Monsters, Dark Metal, Rock, Alternative Metal, CD Review, News, Sisters Of Mercy, HIM, Waltari

(7/10) Another band from Finland. They are called Sleep Of Monsters and their debut album "Produces reason" is available in their homecountry since quite a while. Now the band wants to take the next step and release "Produces reason" also in other countries.

The musicians aren't totally unknown guys. We have Janne Immonen at the keyboards, who is known from Waltari. Singer Ike Vil is belonging to the Babylon Whores and drummer Pätkä Rantala was part of HIM's mighty debut album.

The music of the sextett can be described as a mix out of dark metal, dark rock and a bit of post-punk. The result sound quite good, eventhough it is not 'never heard before' stuff. But Sleep Of Monsters have the sense for combining a creepy atmosphere ("Murder she wrote") with big melodies ("Christonsonday" and "Through a mirror darkly").

The opener "Nihil nihil nihil" sounds with the catchy melody like one of the harder HIM tunes mixed with a bit Sisters Of Mercy. And with "Magic without tears" the Finns open the door to a dark and gloomy world. A song for the month of November....

All in all "Produces reason" is a good debut album of a band that has the potential to catch some attention also outside of Finland. Let's see what the future will bring.





  1. Holy holy holy
  2. Nihil nihil nihil
  3. Abomination street
  4. Muder she wrote
  5. Our svage gold
  6. Christsonday
  7. Horses of the sun
  8. Through a mirror darky
  9. Cobwebs of your mind
  10. Magic without tears
  11. I am the night color me black


Label: Svart Records

Genre: Dark Metal


CD review SLEEP OF MONSTERS "Produces reason"