Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review ZODIAC "A hiding place"

Veröffentlicht am 18. Oktober 2013 von Markus W. in CD Review, Zodiac, Classic Rock

(8/10) Napalm Records comes out in those weeks with two great new albums. Next to Monster Magnet also Zodiac will release their new album. I was already impressed by their debut, but the new one, called "A hiding place" is even better. Zodiac plays awesome classic rock and the album has 8 killer and one opener :-)

It's actually the opener, which is not really my favorite eventhough it is a good song. But I just don't get into it. It starts with almost an AC/DC rhythm from "Who made who" and is a cool song, but the chorus doesn't fit to my ears.all the other songs are just excellent. "Free" has a great hookline and can became a live anthem of the band. "Underneath my bed" grooves like hell. Just listen to the hammond organ. Love it. "Leave me blind" is a relaxed song, a ballad with dominating vocals of Nick van Delft. The songs actually sounds like agood version of an Rea Garvey/Chris Rea song. What an emotion. "Moonshine" comes with aslow and pounding beat, before it gets a bit slower again. "Believer" is more in line with "Leave me blind". "I wanna know" has a part one and a part two. The first part starts with acoustic guitars before the heavy riff kills brings power into the song. Part two is the continuation and is also a mix out of more silent parts combined with some heavy eruptions. The song has also a cover version. The last song is called "Cortez the killer". It's the cover from the Neil Young and for me it's a perfect version. I like it.

Resumee: Go for it!

(8/10)

Tracklist:

  1. Downtown
  2. Free
  3. Underneath my bed
  4. Leave me blind
  5. Moonshine
  6. Believer
  7. I wanna know part 1
  8. I wanna know part 2
  9. Cortez the killer

Label: Napalm Records

Genre: Classic Rock

CD review ZODIAC "A hiding place"