Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review MAMMOTH MAMMOTH "Mount the Mountain"

Veröffentlicht am 22. April 2017 von Markus W. in Mammoth Mammoth, Stoner Rock, Rock, Hardrock, News, Heavy Metal, Napalm Records, CD Review

(8/10) A new album of Australian rocker Mammoth Mammoth is a like a cold beer that gets the dust out of your throat. It's a straight-on and refreshing experience that just helps to refresh and blow away the worries in daily life.

The quartet from Melbourne joined the race in 2008 with a first EP and an extremely powerful debut that saw the light of day one year later. Time went by and April 2017 is the moment of Mammoth Mammoth's fourth longplayer hitting the road. "Mount the Mountain" is the title of this eleven songs including records that can be seen as another energizer from Down Under.

The first thing that sticks out is the artwork of the album. It probably creates some attention but it would be worth nothing if the music of this longplayer couldn't live up to expectations too. In this sense it's not much more than an appetizer for songs that are pure rockn'roll.

The title track opens the doors to an album that comes in the typical fashion. Rough vocals, raunchy guitars and a steady beat characterize a tune that's good but also misses the final kick. I guess the rocking "Spellbound" would have been the better choice; a track with a dense sound, great breaks, an hypnotic beat and a kick-ass attitude. In general it's the uptempo songs on "Mount the Mountain" that are a blast. "Kickin' My Dog" is another one of these tracks and also "Hard Way Down" doesn't come with any compromises.

The true fun part of this longplayer comes at the end when the quartet takes Kylie Minogue's "Can't Get You Out of My Head" which is turned upside down - twisted into a typical Mammoth Mammoth rocker. It's actually quite hard to recognize the original hit.

The only things that's missing on this longplayer is a real smasher. Songs like "Hell's Likely" from the debut didn't make it on "Mount the Mountain"; an album that is still pure fun to listen to and the right background music for an upcoming spring and summer party. Cheers.





  1. Mount the Mountain
  2. Spellbound
  3. Hole in the Head
  4. Kickin' My Dog
  5. Procrastination
  6. Sleep Walker
  7. Epitome
  8. Hard Way Down
  9. Wild and Dead
  10. Cold Liquor
  11. I Can't Get You Out of My Head


Label: Napalm Records

Genre: Stoner Rock

Release Date EU: April 28th, 2017

CD review MAMMOTH MAMMOTH "Mount the Mountain"