Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review THE ANSWER "Raise a little hell"

Veröffentlicht am 7. März 2015 von Markus W. in The Answer, Classic Rock, Rock, Hardrock, CD Review, News

(8/10) New stuff from The Answer. Yeah. 

The band from Northern Ireland is still fairly new, eventhough they started already 15 years ago. But it was in 2006, when they released their debut, and especially in 2009 with "Everyday demons" that they got more attention. What gave them even more publicity was the support slot in AC/DC's "Black ice" tour. I have seen them at that time in Oberhausen, Germany and I must say that they did a damn good job. It's not that easy to 'win' an audience that comes basically for bands like AC/DC, but The Answer earned quite some credits that night.

Their sounds fits and fitted very well into the retro trend that is around since a few years. But The Answer isn't one of the bands following this trend - they have been involved in creating this revival.

The new longplayer is called "Raise a little hell" is the fifth one in The Answer's discography and the second one for Napalm Records. Twelve classic rock songs have found their way on the record - with a lot of inspiration from esp. Led Zeppelin ("Aristocrat". This is based on the music they play in general, but also voice and vocal lines of Cormac Neeson emphasize this impression.

That the mentioned tour with AC/DC had an impact on the music of The Answer becomes obvious in tracks like "I am what I am" that is stimulated by the legends from down under. Looking on the result, something that is very positive. The tune's a real cool rocker with a great riff.

Other tracks you should listen to are the pounding opener "Long live the renegades" with a lot of drive, the mentioned "Aristocrat" with a damn cool groove and the half-ballad "Cigarettes & regrets". But also the title track, which is the closer too, is a highlight on the album. It is a slow song that blows out of your speakers. The tune has an excellent groove, a warm guitar sound and an harmonica part that is the cherry on the cake. A mighty title track.

"Raise a little hell" is an entertaining hardrock record that is the perfect soundtrack for having a good time. Or to say it in the Facebook language "I like".





  1. Long lives the renegades
  2. The other side
  3. Aristocrat
  4. Cigarettes & regret
  5. Last days of summer
  6. Strange kinda' nothing
  7. I am what I am
  8. Whiplash
  9. Gone too long
  10. Red
  11. I am cured
  12. Raise a little hell


Label: Napalm Records

Genre: Classic Rock

CD review THE ANSWER "Raise a little hell"