Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review RANGER "Where evil dwells"

Veröffentlicht am 12. März 2015 von Markus W. in Ranger, Agent Steel, Iron Maiden, Speed Metal, Thrash Metal, Heavy Metal, News, CD Review

(7/10) It's like a deja-vu. After the new Evil Invaders album there is another speed metal dsic ready to be released. Ranger from Finland has with "Where evil dwells" a new record in the starting box that re-vitalises the metal genre from the 80's.

Speed metal got less and less attention over the last years. Thrash became more popular and had it's revival and also power metal never really lost momentum. So good that we also have the more faster variation of metal back as well.

Referring to bands like Agent Steel, the high vocals do their job, Ranger creates their version of fast played metal. The merciless pounding rhythm section is pushing each song to its limit. The opener "Defcon 1" is a good example. Heavy riffs, screaming guitars and an enormous punch, that is what Ranger releases on the new longplayer.

Next to the fast train tracks there are also some more moderate paced NWoBHM influenced moments on "Where evil dwells". It's actually the ten minutes long title track that shows the impact bands like Iron Maiden had on the sound of the Ranger.

So all in all cool stuff - with one exception... The downer on the album is the sound that is unfortunately oldschool too. Of course you could say that this completes the package, but I think that this reduces the very positive impression of the songs and the album.

I think with a better production Ranger could have been easily scoring one point more. So it's a good 'seven' for "Where evil dwells" from an intersting band from the North. Speed metal is alive.





  1. Defcon 1
  2. Deadly feast
  3. Phantom soldier
  4. Dead zone
  5. Black circle (S.Y.L.S.)
  6. Where evil dwells
  7. Storm of power


Label: Spinefarm Records

Genre: Speed Metal

CD review RANGER "Where evil dwells"