Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

warrior soul

CD review WARRIOR SOUL "Back to the Lash"

Veröffentlicht am 25. November 2017 von Markus W. in Warrior Soul, News, CD Review, Hardrock, Rock, Alternative Rock, Livewire, Back to Lash

CD review WARRIOR SOUL "Back to the Lash"

(4/10) The gap between Warrior Soul‘s phenomenal first two longplayers and the newest record „Back on the Lash“ couldn‘t be bigger.

Kory Clarke and his gang surprised the scene in 1990 with the debut “Last Decade Dead Century”. The energetic combination of rock, metal and punk led to two jaw-dropping good longplayers that still belong to my personal faves, followed by the equally good “Drugs, God and the New Republic”.

Unfortunately a downwards spiral started with another low-light in 2017. The newest album under the moniker of Warrior Soul, is entitled „Back on the Lash“. The record comprises nine songs with a running time of appr. 32 minutes. That‘s the first downer with the album. The lack of quantity could be balanced by awesome quality, a hope that‘s blown away by the first tune. This album contains trivial and boring hardrock with Clarke‘s hoarse voice being in the forefront. Furthermore there are rattling drums in the background, a bass that‘s, with some exeptions, simply not present and riffs that are uninspired.

It‘s hard to listen to this album knowing from where Warrior Soul comes from. This album is final farewell for Warrior Soul, a band that‘s nowadays only a legend in their own minds. The only colourful thing with this longplayer is the artwork.





  1. American Idol
  2. I Get Fucked Up
  3. Back on the Lash
  4. Further Decay
  5. Thrill Seeker
  6. Going Broke
  7. Black Out
  8. I Got the Rock
  9. That’s How We Roll


Label: Livewire

Genre: Hardrock

Release Date EU: December 1st,,2017


CD review TORCHE "Restarter"

Veröffentlicht am 7. Februar 2015 von Markus W. in Torche, Warrior Soul, Sludge, Doom Metal, Heavy Metal, Stoner Rock, CD Review, News

(9/10) The history of Torche started in 2004 in Miami, Florida. Amazing fact in these days is the stable line-up. Only one change in ten years, guitarist Andrew Elstner joined the band in 2011 (replacing Juan Montoya), is more the exception than the rule nowadays. This fact  helped the band to create such a heavy and dense sound as it is on their new longplayer “Restarter”.

Let's downtune the guitars and start. "Annihilation affair" is the opener, coming with a really heavy guitar sound. It feels like you're running into a massiv wall of riffs. The counterpart to those powerful sounds are the vocals that are suprisingly melodic. When it comes to the vocals lines a was often reminded to bands like Warrior Soul especially in the real angry moments ("Bishop in arms"). But also tracks like the simple but intesive "Blasted" show some parallels with the early days of Kory Clarke and friends. It's a short song with a strong punk attitude that hits you right into your face. And what a bassline.  Wow.

Another song to mention is the slower "No servants" that sounds like the marriage of sludge and Helmet. And with "Believe it" things get even slower. Entering the fields of stoner rock the brutal riff and the booming bass makes you feel like being lost in the desert heat. Slow, mean and hot stuff.

The title track "Restarter" got the honour to be the bouncer on the album. The punch of this song is enormous too. The downtuned guitars together with merciless pushing bass doesn't give a moment of relaxation. It's more like being caught in an eight minutes long hurricane where there is no escape. The vocal parts of the song are OK, but the real joy start halfway when a massive instrumental inferno takes over and puts a spell on you. What an impressive ending of a really good album.

"Restarter" - go for it.





  1. Annihilation affair
  2. Bishop in arms
  3. Minions
  4. Loose men
  5. Undone
  6. Blasted
  7. No servants
  8. Believe it
  9. Barrier hammer
  10. Restarter


Label: Relapse Records

Genre: Sludge

CD review TORCHE "Restarter"