Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

voodoo hill

CD review VOODOO HILL "Waterfall"

Veröffentlicht am 13. Oktober 2015 von Markus W. in Voodoo Hill, Glenn Hughes, Dario Mollo, Hardrock, Melodic Metal, Heavy Rock, Classic Rock, News, CD Review

(8/10) And again it's Frontiers Music that brings together some genre icons to work on a new album. Voodoo Hill is the name of the cooperation out of guitarist Dario Mollo and singer legend Glenn Hughes. Having those two guys working together rose my expectations when it comes to "Waterfall"; the new album of Voodoo Hill.

So, CD into the play, pressing 'start' and looking forward to an exciting journey; that was the plan. But the first two tracks didn't knock off my socks. The opener "All That Remains" is a more complex track that isn't easy to access, even though it has a cool groove. "The Well" instead felt for me like the guys stayed in second gear by having five gears available. It's Glenn Hughes voice that safes the song from being too trivial. After such a beginning the question vame to my mind if I have had too high expectations.

No, I haven't. Fortunatly from track three on "Waterfall" becomes really exciting. "Rattle Shake Bone" is build on a really cool riff that shakes your bones. No comparison to the opening double.

The slow grooving "Underneath and Down Below" is next, a song that's located somewhere between the 80's Rainbow and Deep Purple. Also "Waterfall" has this classic rock expression that goes partly back to the 70's, by adding a modern touch to it.

Again, you have to go though the hard times in the beginning of this album in order to enjoy the rest. Numbers such as "Evil Thing" and the bluesy "White Feather" compensate for this and make "Waterfall" to a superb heavy rock album that lives up to the earlier mentioned high expectations.





  1. All That Remains
  2. The well
  3. Rattle Shake Bone
  4. Underneath and Down Below
  5. Waterfall
  6. Karma go
  7. Evil Thing
  8. Eldorado
  9. White Feather
  10. Sunflower
  11. Last Door


Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Hardrock

Release Date EU: October 16th, 2015

CD review VOODOO HILL "Waterfall"