Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

three days grace

CD review THERE DAYS GRACE "Outsider"

Veröffentlicht am 4. März 2018 von Markus W. in Three Days Grace, Outsider, Sony Music, Alternative Metal, Alternative Rock, Post Grunge, Rock, Hardrock, News, CD Review

CD review THERE DAYS GRACE "Outsider"

(9/10) Multi-platinum certified Canadian alternative rockers Three Days Grace return with a new album, the first one since the 2015 release “Human”.

The band’s sixth longplayer is entitled “Outsider” and features twelve new rock songs that easily live-up to the quality appreciated with earlier releases.

The newest offer benefits from an excellent sound provided by producers Gavin Brown and Howard Benso. The production team has been completed by Mike Plotnikoff and Chris Lord-Alge, both being in charge for the engineering.

The first single that has been unveiled is “The Mountain” and it’s a good choice. It’s a hard rocking track with heavy guitars. However, there is more to discover with “The Mountain” since the song also includes a well-crafted chorus and a great sense for melodies. This tune is a mature composition that represents the album in a great way.

What adds additional quality to the album is singer Matt Walet who’s part of Three Days Grace since a few years and he was rather new in the line-up when the quartet worked on “Human”. In the meantime Walet definitely ‘arrived’ and his new level of confidence, also expressed in many idea when it comes to “Outsider”, added a new dynamic. Walet is no ‘outsider’ anymore. He’s fully in.

Getting back to the songs means mentioning “Me Against You”. It’s a rather confronting song that shows that Three Days Grace has nothing to do with mainstream rock. The songs has an oppressive vibe and a dark expression; so no 'sugar' at all.

Furthermore the quartet experimented a bit more with electronic sounds what could have easily ended up in mainstream pop music. To mitigate the risk the four guys collaborated with Rhys Fulber when it comes to programming and great songs like “Love Me or Leave Me” are the reward for the effort taken.

The cinematic and rocking “The Abyss” marks the end of an album that I can sum-up as a very well-done alternative rock record. While some post-grunge bands started to drown in mainstream Three Days Grace maintained and strengthened their rocking roots while still being open for a wider audience. “Outsider” balances heavy guitars with great melodies, a combination that’s a treat for your ears.





  1. Right Left Wrong
  2. The Mountain
  3. I am an Outsider
  4. Infra-Red
  5. Nothing to Lose But You
  6. Me Against You
  7. Love Me or Leave Me
  8. Strange Days
  9. Villain I’m Not
  10. Chasing the First Time
  11. The New Real
  12. The Abyss


Label: Sony Music

Genre: Alternative Metal

Release Date EU: March 9th, 2018


CD review SAINT ASONIA "Saint Asonia"

Veröffentlicht am 19. Oktober 2015 von Markus W. in Saint Asonia, Stained, Three Days Grace, Alternative Metal, Alternative Rock, Post Grunge, Grunge, CD, News

(8/10) I have the feeling that 'supergroups' spring up like mushrooms at the moment. Maybe this has to do with the start of the autumn season or whatever.

Saint Asonia is the name of one of those 'supergroups'; this time in the field of alternative metal. So, what's so super with the group. Basically Saint Asonia are four guys that you might have heard about already in another context. Adam Gontier (v,g) played also for Three Days Grace, Mike Mushok is on lead guitar and known from Stained, Corey Lowery (Eye Empire) is on the four-string and the drumkit is in hands of Rich Beddoe, former part of Finger Eleven.

Saint Asonia was formed by those guys back in 2014 in Toronto, Canada. The band/project wasn't really meant to be a supergroup. It is more a constellation of musicians, sharing the same musical taste, that found a new channel to express their creative output.

The first single of the self-titles debut album is "Better Place" which was also chosen to be the opener for "Saint Asonia". It's a lusty rock song that clearly shows the alternative metal and post-grunge roots of the different band members. The fourpiece sounds surprisingly heavy, which is a for sure benefit of the album. Far away from bands like Nickleback the four guys make some noise and build a lot of songs on massive guitar riffs.

More quite tunes ensure a diversity on this debut album. "Even Though I Say" is one of this slow songs that are soulful by still having rougher components too. And even "Waste My Time, the obligatory ballad on the longplayer, is a well-done and bitter sweet moment on "Saint Asonia". I have to say that the second half of the record became a bit softer anyhow. Not that those tunes can't keep the level of the early ones. However, the acoustic guitar gets more into spotlight, like in the soulful "Try To Catch Up With the World".

"Happy Tragedy" is bringing back the the crunchy riffs, at least partly, before with "Leaving Minnesota" the next slow tunes starts - and actually finishs the album.

"Saint Asonia" is a highly professional alternative rock/metal album that manages the balancing act between mainstream and heaviness. The excellent production is hereby the cherry on the cake. Saint Asonia can reach with their album post-grungers as well as the younger fans; something that will make the album to a commercial success.

In my point of view we got a great debut from this band, with the small sidenote that the second have been a bit harder. Maybe next time.





  1. Better Place
  2. Blow Me Wide Open
  3. Let Me Live My Life
  4. Even Though I Say
  5. Fairy Tale
  6. King of Nothing
  7. Waste My Time
  8. Dying Slowly
  9. Trying To Catch Up With the World
  10. Happy Tragedy
  11. Leaving Minnesota


Label: Columbia (Sony Music)

Genre: Alternative Metal

Release date EU: October 23rd, 2015

CD review SAINT ASONIA "Saint Asonia"