Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

the raven age

CD review THE RAVEN AGE "Darkness Will Rise"

Veröffentlicht am 21. März 2017 von Markus W. in The Raven Age, Metalcore, Modern Metal, Alternative Metal, News, CD Review

(7/10) Being 'the son of' can open doors, but it can be a burden too. When it comes to Raven Age it's Steve Harris' (Iron Maiden) son George that is part of The Raven Age, being one of the two guitarist of the band. The guys had up to date one EP out on the market and put a lot of focus on touring activities. No surprise that the guys got the support slot for Iron Maiden as well as opening for Tremonti and being on tour recently with Anthrax.

These live activities benefited the band since they play quite tight and stand there as a rock. That’s a good base to build on but releasing the debut is the moment when the rubber hits the road. "Darkness Will Rise" is the name of this first full-length album that features 12 songs and one intro.

The title track is actually the intro that leads to "Promised Land" which is a six minutes songs that's very rhythm based. The tempo is kept quite moderate while the song lives from the pounding beat and melodic vocal lines. It's a good start into the album even though the story could have been also told in four minutes. "Age of the Raven" takes a similar road before "The Death March" comes with marching rhythm and a heavy riffing.

The first more silent tones are embedded in "Salem's Fate". The track begins slow and soulful, something that changes after a bit more than a minute. The track evolves to another alternative rocker that has some more classic metal influences.

One of the best tunes on the album is entitled "Eye Among the Blind" which is, in parts, heavier than the earlier mentioned numbers and also "Trapped Within the Shadows" belongs to the well done tracks on the album.

However, in the end I must say that the tunes on "Darkness Will Rise" are solid, but also done in a cookie-cutter approach. I had too often the idea that I listen to the same thing only different. The Raven Age's debut is a well-crafted alternative metal release that unfortunately misses the real 'wow' effect.





  1. Darkness Will Rise
  2. Promised Land
  3. Age of the Raven
  4. The Death March
  5. Salem’s Fate
  6. The Merciful One
  7. Eye among the Blind
  8. Winds of Change
  9. Trapped Within the Shadows
  10. My Revenge
  11. The Dying Embers of Life
  12. Angel in Disgrace
  13. Behind The Mask


Label: BMG/Warner

Genre: Alternative Metal

Release Date EU: March 17th, 2017

CD review THE RAVEN AGE "Darkness Will Rise"

Live review TREMONTI / THE RAVEN AGE, 013, Tilburg, 19.12.2015

Veröffentlicht am 21. Dezember 2015 von Markus W. in Tremonti, The Raven Age, Rock, Alternative Metal, Modern Metal, Grunge, Post Grunge, Live Review, News

It feels like Mark Tremonti having a good relationship with The Netherlands. I can't remember him touring through Europe without having at least listed one show in the Holland. Also this time the tour stopped in the Benelux country and it has been second to last before the band goes into a well deserved x-mas vacation period.

Before playing Zwolle the day after it was the 013 in Tilburg that hosted the band on this Saturday night. Unfortunately Tremonti only played the smaller hall, which was sold out in no time. The attempt of moving to the bigger hall failed, which was a pity for everybody that couldn't get a ticket. But for the ones being part of the show, this concert became an awesome one in a quite intimate sphere.

But before Mark Tremonti and his gang could enter the stage it was up to The Raven Age to heat up the audience. The guys from London are around since 2009; at least this is when the Dan Wright and George Harris founded the band. It took till 2013 to get things more shaped, which was also the year when the band published their debut EP - the only release till this day.

However, The Raven Age has played many shows, supporting e.g. Masterdon and Delain. That the guys learnt a lot during those past shows was clearly visible in Tilburg that evening. The five dudes played a really good show that was very much appreciated by the fans. Even though must of them came for Tremonti, The Rave Age rocked the 013 and got a lot of applause. Their powerful modern- / alternative metal was perceived very well and the venue was already quite packed while the London-based five-piece played their set. 

For the ones who might missed the guys, there is a new chance, since they will be the opening act for Iron Maiden's "Book Of Souls" world tour. Knowing that George Harris' family name isn't coinsidentaly the same as the one from the might Maiden bass player, Steve is his father, not a too big surpise.

After a not too long break it was time for the master himself. Mark Tremonti and his band entered the stage. The beginning couldn't have been more furious than with the title track "Cauterize". Tremonti seems to enjoy releasing the metal beast with his solo project. Not that Alter Bridge, his main band, playing soft stuff, but the really heavy songs are reserved for Tremonti.

"Flying Monkeys" for example sounds already brutal on the album, but the live version was even harder. What a riff, man! Soundgarden in their earlier days came to my mind immediately. Talking about grunge influences, also the more moderate "All I Was" from the debut was played and sounded damn cool. OK, there was actually no number on the setlist that wasn't a treat for a true metalhead's ears.

Regardless if it's the more melancholic "Dark Trip" or the speed metal influenced "Arm Yourself", both from "Cauterize", these songs just rock. Those tunes just turned the venue into a madhouse and if you would have asked the fans, this show could have gone forever.

And even though Mark Tremonti is the mainman I also want to mention the band that supported him. Eric Friedman, Garrett Whitlock and Tanner Keegan build with their excellent play the foundation for this wall of sound that night in Tilburg.

But after 15 songs and around 80 minutes playtime, things came to an end. "Wish You Well" marked the end of a fantastic show of a great musican that stand with both feet on the ground. Cool guy, cool show, cool musician.

I'm already looking forward to early summer 2016 when we can expect Tremonti back in Europe, than even with new songs in the backpack.

Live review TREMONTI / THE RAVEN AGE, 013, Tilburg, 19.12.2015

Setlist Tremonti:

  1. Cauterize
  2. You Waste Your Time
  3. All I Was
  4. So You're Afraid
  5. Flying Monkeys
  6. The Things I've Seen
  7. Radical Change
  8. Dark Trip
  9. Brains
  10. All That I Got
  11. Arm Yourself
  12. Decay
  13. Another Heart
  14. Sympathy
  15. Wish You Well


Setlist The Raven Age:

  1. Uprising
  2. Promisded Land
  3. The Death March
  4. Trapped Within the Shadows
  5. Eye Among the Blind
  6. Merciful One
  7. Salem's Angel (Intro by a drum solo)
  8. Angel in Disgrace



Location: 013, Tilburg, The Netherlands

Date: 19.12.2015