Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

the poodles

CD review KRYPTONITE "Kryptonite"

Veröffentlicht am 7. August 2017 von Markus W. in Kryptonite, Hardrock, Rock, News, CD Review, Frontiers Music, Melodic Rock, The Poodles, Treat, Mustasch

CD review KRYPTONITE "Kryptonite"

(7/10) Is Kryptonite an artificial band/ project? In one or another way it is. The Poodles singer Jakob Samuels developed the idea together with producer Alessandro Del Vecchio, both forming Kryptonite by adding some more musicians from bands like Treat and Mustasch. The guitar parts were done by Mike Palace and all togethercreated a longplayer that's light-hearted and entertaining. But it's also far away from 'wow. 

Kryptonite fits perfect into Frontiers Music's portfolio. Sweet melodies and hooks are more than present on this album. The influences of the 'mother bands' are more than shimmering through once with a tracklist following a standard pattern. The melodic rocker "Chasing Fire" starts things, followed by "This is the Moment" which brings back Scandinavian rock music from the 80's and the same goes for the medium-paced "Keep the Dream Alive". 
After these more rocking tunes it's time for some soulful stuff and you get it. "Fallen Angels" isn't a ballad but it softens things. A tune that's slightly different from the before heard is "Across the Water". It's the grooving verse that feels refreshing and breaks the chains of being too predicatable. 
For the rest the album contains the necessary ballad ("Knowing Both of Us") and the more average "One Soul". Fortunately ther's with the uptempo"Get Out Be Gone" also a highlight on the B-side and I would have wished more of these straight-forward power songs. 
Alessandro Del Vecchio, like with many other records before, gave also this debut a sound that's powerful and diverse. In the end "Kryptonite" is an album that is entertaining from beginning to end and that's where the excitement comes from. Still there are other bands that created such an excitement earlier too.


  1. Chasing Fire
  2. This is the Moment
  3. Keep the Dream Alive
  4. Fallen Angels
  5. Across the Water
  6. Love Can Be Stronger
  7. Knowing Both of Us
  8. Get Out Be Gone
  9. One Soul
  10. Better Than Yesterday
  11. No Retreat No Surrender


Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Hardrock

Release Date EU: August 4th, 2017


CD review THE POODLES "Devil in the details"

Veröffentlicht am 30. März 2015 von Markus W. in The Poodles, Gotthard, Hardrock, Rock, Classic Rock, News, CD Review

(8/10) 'The devil is in the detail' is a saying and The Poodles decided to use this as a base for the name of their newst longplayer. "Devil in the detail" became the name of the sixth album and The Poodles managed being able to handle all those details that decide on success are failure.

"Devil in the detail" isn't a failure at all. The band presents themselves in good shape and offers 12 songs that are melodic metal/hardrock that can be compared with the latest release from Gotthard. This means that there isn't a lot that changed with the sound of the 2005 founded band, but they developed the details (again this word :))

The opening double header "Before I die" and "House of cards" is well chosen. Heavy riffs are combined with good hooklines that are a pleasure to listen to. "The greatest" is the first track that takes out the heaviness a bit. It is a normal rock song with a good quality, even though it isn't the best on the album. It's very much mainstream.

The partly funky "(What the hell) Baby" stands out a bit more. It has a big pop appeal  and it is sugar sweet. And since we love sugar there is no way to escape from the track. A song that follows a kind of the same pattern is "Stop". The hookline is very well done and the straight-forward rhythm does the rest. In my point of view a real winner on the album.

A tune you should check out as well is "Creator and breaker". The number has a good groove and a melodyline that sticks from the very first moment. This is actually something that goes for all of the songs. You get into them from the very first moment on and we talk about haunting melodies, since the tracks are catchy.

A word about the sound. Mats Valentine has been responsible for the production and he gave the album an powerful sound and made it a really rocking one.

"Devil in the detail" is an excellent melodic metal/hardrock album that gives you good time and is the soundtrack for your next ride into the sunset.





  1. Before I die
  2. House of cards
  3. The greatest
  4. Crack in the wall
  5. (Way the hell) Baby
  6. Everything
  7. Stop
  8. Need to believe
  9. Alive
  10. Life without you
  11. Creator and breaker
  12. Borderline


Label: Gain Music

Genre: Melodic Metal

CD review THE POODLES "Devil in the details"