Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

suicidal tendencies

CD review SUICIDAL TENDENCIES "Get Your Fight On!" - EP

Veröffentlicht am 12. März 2018 von Markus W. in Get Your Fight On!, News, Suicidal Records, Thrash Metal, Crossover, Suicidal Tendencies

CD review SUICIDAL TENDENCIES "Get Your Fight On!" - EP

(9/10) "World Gone Mad" was Suicidal Tendencies latest album that has been released to date and there was chatter about the record being the last release from California-based skate punks. One and a half year later there is new stuff available from Mike Muir and band, songs that sound dynamic and powerful.

Suicidal Tendencies released an EP with 10 songs and a running time of 45 minutes. Wow. And if this would not be enough, each of the ten tracks is a great piece of music. OK, the title track comes in four different interpretation, but who cares. It's all very good stuff.

"Get Your Fight On!" is the title of this new record that opens with the furious "Nothing to Lose". The song features everything you could ask for from a Suicidal Tendencies song. Hard-hitting drums, furious leads and the typical Suicidal Tendencies groove characterises the song that belongs to the best ones the band published to date (... and they have a lot of good tunes in their repertoire). "I Got a Right", originally by Iggy Pop, is a next blast on this release while some other tunes put the typical Suicidal bassline into forefront. "Get United" with its funky elements is a such cool song on the album and so is "jauthority". 

I love the width of sounds on this EP. Each of the songs has different nuances, all kept together by the typical trademarks of this powerhouse. "Ain't Mess'n Around" has more of a rock vibe that fascinates with an hypnotic beat, followed by the raging "S.E.D.". The band is still hungry and angry.

The last spot on the batting order of this brilliant EP is reserved for the title track "Get Your Fight On!". It comes in four different versions - one focussing on bass, one on shredding guitars, one is acoustic and one is in the aggressive Suicidal Tendencies fashion, with the latter being the 'real' title track and closer. All interpretations are perfectly executed and mark the glorious end of an EP that will be followed by a 'Part 2' later this year.





  1. Nothning to Lose
  2. Get United!
  3. jauthority
  4. Ain't Mess'n Around
  5. S.E.D.
  6. I Got a Right
  7. Get Your Right On!
  8. Get Your Bass On!
  9. Get Your Shred On!
  10. Get Your Fight On!


Label: Suicidal Records

Genre: Crossover

Release Date EU: March 9th, 2018


CD review SUICIDAL TENDENCIES "World Gone Mad"

Veröffentlicht am 30. September 2016 von Markus W. in Suicidal Tendencies, Dave Lombardo, Thrash Metal, Crossover, Punk, News, CD Review, Mike Muir

(8/10) Finally a new Suicidal Tendencies album again; that was my first thought when I heard about "13" which was released in 2013 - an album that ended a thirteen year lasting period without any studio output of Mike Muir and band.

This time it didn't take that long for Suicidal Tendencies to prepare a new longplayer. Three years after "13" the new record will be released on September 30st and it's a another highlight in the band's discography.

Of course it's Mike Muir that's the constant factor in Suicidal Tendencies. However, this time the iconic frontman was supported by a band that included three new musicians. Ra Diaz on bass and Jeff Pogan on guitar became new members of the punk/thrash crossover flagship. This is already good news but the real highlight is the fact that the legendary Dave Lombardo enriches the longplayer with his excellent drumming.

Lombardo, but also Diaz and Pogan brought some new energy into the band, something that the five-piece clearly reflects on "World Gone Mad". This album powers from the beginning to end.

Pushing drums and a grooving bassline kick off "Clap Like Ozzy" which is a fast opener the 'Suicidal-way'. The following "The New Degeneration" begins with some spoken words before a mighty riff takes over, leading to a great tune that could be easily from the earlier days. That Muir and gang didn't came to make compromisses becomes obvious with "Living For Life", a highspeed song with an excellent drumming of Lombardo.

The title track is a cool and very rhythm-based song that will work best live while "One Finger Salute" shifts up gears again. A song that could be from the "How can I laugh..." EP session is named "Still Dying to Live" which is a silent song with a certain emotional depth. It shows the width of the band's sound and it's a well-done counterpart to the raging moments on this output.

To conclude: "World Gone Mad" is a brilliant Suicidal Tendencies album showing the band refreshed, rebellious and hungry. This album can easily handle comparisons with earlier classic like "Lights Camera Revolution" and the "Art of Rebellion". Check it out, it's worth it.





  1. Clap Like Ozzy
  2. The New Degeneration
  3. Living For Life
  4. Get Your Fight On!
  5. World Gone Mad!
  6. Happy Never After
  7. One Finger Salute
  8. Damage Control
  9. The Struggle is Real
  10. Still Dying to Live
  11. This World


Label: Suicidal Records

Genre: Crossover

Release Date EU: September 30st, 2016

CD review SUICIDAL TENDENCIES "World Gone Mad"

New SUICIDAL TENDENCIES album in September

Veröffentlicht am 7. August 2016 von Markus W. in Suicidal Tendencies, Hardcore, Punk, Skatecore, News, Dave Lomardo, Mike Muir

"World Gone Mad" is the name of Suicidal Tendencies' next studio album that will be released on September 30 via Suicidal Records.

Some new musicians joined the band for the recording session but also for touring activities. No less than Dave Lombardo takes a seat behind the drum kit while Ra Diaz on bass completes the rhythm section. Last but not least Jeff Pogan joins as guitarist.

Bandleader Mike Muir describes the collaboration with Dave Lombardo: "It's interesting, because a lot of people, obviously, associate Dave with the Slayer sound. When you hear how he literally attacks the various STyles on this album, you're instantly blown away at not only how insane of a drummer he is, but also how tremendously diverse a drummer he is. Dave is a true legend, but I believe even a lot of his most hard core fans will be blown away at what he’s brought to this record."

Dave Lombardo states: “I think it's very typical and very traditional Suicidal Tendencies. It's that unforgettable style. It's Mike Muir. He is a legend and has a very special style in which he writes his music, his lyrics and his structures. And I love it; I love it. It takes me back to how it all started, which was that punk attitude. I'm very happy to be a part of his organization. I feel very welcomed. I feel very much appreciated, and there's a lot camaraderie and respect amongst the musicians. We have a really good time together. We hang out as a band, which is very important. I'm honored to be a part of Mikes legacy and can't wait for this album to drop."

New SUICIDAL TENDENCIES album in September