Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

stone temple pilots

CD review STONE TEMPLE PILOTS "Stone Temple Pilots"

Veröffentlicht am 17. März 2018 von Markus W. in Stone Temple Pilots, STP, News, CD Review, Grunge, Post-Grunge, Alternative Metal, Alternative Rock, Rhino

CD review STONE TEMPLE PILOTS "Stone Temple Pilots"

(8/10) Grunge was invented in Seattle and that's where iconic bands like Pearl Jam, Soundgarden, Alice In Chains and many more came from. In parallel a rock outfit was formed in San Diego, California that started with a similar sound. Scott Weiland, Dean DeLeo, Robert DeLeo and Eric Kretz began under the banner of Mighty Joe Young, which was changed to Stone Temple Pilots rather quickly. The quartet successfully surfed on the grunge wave with their debut entitled "Core", which was published in 1990. This first album pushed the band from zero to hero in no time. "Core" had chart entries in the US and Europe, including brilliant songs like "Sex Type Thing" and "Plush". "Core" is still the best album the band ever released, at least in my humble opinion.

What followed was a period of ups and down and luckily fans can welcome the band's seventh album this year. Simply entitled "Stone Temple Pilots" the new album features twelve songs of which "Meadow" was the first single that was unveiled in November last year. The interesting thing with the name of this longplayer is the fact that it's the second one in a row that comes with the bands name only on the cover. I guess that this is something really unique and I can't remember a band that did something like this before.

"Stone Temple Pilots" is the first album with new singer Jeff Gutt and the first one without the band's original vocalist Scott Weiland who passed away in 2015. "Stone Temple Pilots" doesn't look back so much. The quartet looks forward and the self-titled album expresses this approach very well. "Stone Temple Pilots" (the first one) closed an era of the band and the second strike starts a new one.

"Middle of Nowhere" is the grooving opener of the record with the slower paced "Guilty" being the next hit on the list.  Grunge roots are partly included in the latter even though the tune itself comes with a wider style expression. "Meadow" is the earlier mentioned first release from the album and has some hit potential, while "Six Eight" brings back the rocking foundation. The gently swinging "Thought She'd Be Mine" takes over and also "The Art of Letting Go" represents a calm moment on the album with a solid portion of melancholy weaved into the tune. The end of this longplayer gets closer and it's the acoustic "Reds & Blues" that ends an album that presents well-crafted alternative rock music.

"Stone Temple Pilots" doesn't get close to the iconic debut and the sophomore "Purple" record. However, it's a strong rock album that finds a good balance between rock bursts and soulful moments.





  1. Middle of Nowhere
  2. Guilty
  3. Meadow
  4. Just a Little Lie
  5. Six Eight
  6. Thought She's Be Mine
  7. Roll Me Under
  8. Never Enough
  9. The Art of Letting Go
  10. Finest Hour
  11. Good Shoes
  12. Reds & Blues


Label: Rhino / Warner Music

Genre: Alternative Rock

Release Date EU: March 16th, 2018



Veröffentlicht am 28. März 2015 von Markus W. in Scott Weiland, The Wildabouts, Rock, Hardrock, Alternative Rock, Stone Temple Pilots, CD Review, News, Velvet Revolver

(8/10) Scott Weiland is known by many of you from his time at Stone Temple Pilots. The grunge band from San Diego had their peak in the 90's before they disbanded in 2008. Scott Weiland was the extrovert frontman of the successful band before he was replaced in 2013 by Linkin' Park singer Chester Bennington.

Next to the Stone Temple Pilots Weiland was part of Velvet Revolver too but also this engagement came to an end. 

However, this was the past. Let's focus more on the new album Scott Weiland released together with The Wildabouts. First we need to clarify who is standing behind the header of The Wildabouts. Scott Weiland teamed-up with bass player Tommy Black, guitarist Jeremy Brown and drummer Danny Thompson. It is this four-piece band that found together over the last years on several jams and tours. 

In total "Blaster" comes with 12 songs that are a journey through rock history. Scott Weiland and The Wildabouts doesn't only stick to one style. The music can be described as 'rock' with a lot of different shades. 

"Modzilla" and "Amethyst" remind to the old grunge times, "Bleed out" is a straight-forward rocker, "Blue eyes" is a melodic song in a moderate pace and with "Beach pop" the band touches the fields of surf rock. The tune is a mix of Beach Boys and Ramones. And last but not least you can find a cover version on "Blaster" as well. T-Rex's "20th century boy" made it on the tracklist. It's by the way a cool version with a crunchy guitar and a pounding bass. A bit more 'rock' and a bit less 'glam'.

The most silent moment is reserved for the ending. "Circles" is an acoustic song that has a certain folk touch.  

"Blaster" became an exciting trip through rock music that is much better than what I expected from Weiland. Those twelve songs could become your soundtrack for this summer. Cool music with a cool groove. Check it out.





  1. Modzilla
  2. Way she moves
  3. Hotel Rio
  4. Amestyst
  5. White lightning
  6. Blue eyes
  7. Bleed out
  8. Youth quake
  9. Beach pop
  10. Parachute
  11. 20the century boy
  12. Cicles


Label: earMusic

Genre: Rock



Veröffentlicht am 4. März 2015 von Markus W. in Scott Weiland, Stone Temple Pilots, Velvet Revolver, Hardrock, Alternative Metal, Rock, News, Video

Singer Scott Weiland, known from Velvet Revolver and Stone Temple Pilots, has a new album coming up soon. "Blaster" will be the name of the disc and the first song is posted as a video. Here comes the link:


CD review STONE TEMPLE PILOTS "High rise" EP

Veröffentlicht am 4. November 2013 von Markus W. in Stone Temple Pilots, Grunge, Hardrock, CD Review, News

(8/10) It was a clever thing in different ways that the Stone Temple Pilots started a cooperation with Chester Bennington from Linkin Park. First of all it brings STP back into the news, since the cooperation was a bigger surprise Even by thininking about the common Family Values tour in 2001, which established a connection between STP and Linkn Park. Secondly, from a business perspective, it probably helps STP to gain new fans, since the Linkin Park fan base will get curious about STP. And last but not least this line-up wrote new songs and released those as an EP an few days ago.

After listening to the sons a couple of times I must say that the EP is the best I have heard from the STP since quite a while. I think, that Bennington voice fits perfect to the songs and give those a kind of new touch. Since the guitar harmonies are still pretty much anchored in grunge some vocal lines reminded me to hardrock with even some sleaze elements. Actually the vocals sounds a little bit like Phil Lewis from the L.A. Guns like e.g. in the great rock song “Out of time”. This is not meant bad at all and it shows another side of Bennington. Also “Black Heart” has a strong hardrock with some classic rock elements. It grooves realy good. “Same on the inside” is a more  laid-back song with a good melody while “Cry, cry” rocks again. “Tomorrow” has probably th biggest grunge influence. Mid-pace with a melancholic atmosphere.

I was positively surprised about the EP. The cooperation fits and I’m curious what will come next. Would be great if the line-up can continue for quite a while and release a new STP album soon. The EP marks a good start.





  1. Out of time
  2. Black heart
  3. Same on the inside
  4. Cry cry
  5. Tomorrow


Label: Sony Music

Genre: Grunge/Hardrock

CD review STONE TEMPLE PILOTS "High rise" EP
Photo: Chapman Baehler

Photo: Chapman Baehler