Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013


CD review STALLION "From the Dead"

Veröffentlicht am 19. Juni 2017 von Markus W. in Stallion, News, High Roller, Heavy Metal, Power Metal, NWoBHM, CD Review, Hardrock, US Metal, Speed Metal

(8/10) Interested in some real heavy metal from the underground? Yes? In this case you shouldn’t miss Stallion’s sophomore release “From the Dead”. The guys from Baden-Wuerttemberg published their debut in 2014. “Rise and Ride” was a first wake-up call that’s followed here and now by their newest stunner “From the Dead”, a longplayer that comes with ten songs, 45 minutes playtime and a real metal vibe.

“Underground Society” kicks things off. This song speaks volumes since the band puts all their verve into this up-tempo metal track. This tune is a real headbanger with a lot of undusted oldschool metal being included. No wonder that the guys fitted perfect into the line-up of the famous Keep It True festival, which they took by storm.

Stallion knows the ropes – from fast songs like “Hold the Line” to power metal hymns like “Awake the Night”. Even Lizzy Borden–moments are included, bringing back late 80’s metal. “Waiting For a Sign” is the name of the track you definitely should have heard. And last but not least the band also included an ultra-fast statement on “From the Dead”. “Kill Fascists” is a 16 seconds number that doesn't need more of an explanation.

Stallion and their new album prove again the knack of High Roller Records has for young metal bands with a lot of potential. In case you’re into traditional heavy metal with a retro touch you should check out “From the Dead”. But watch out. Better train your neck muscles beforehand since this album will put some demands on them.





  1. Underground Society
  2. Down and Out
  3. Hold the Line
  4. Waiting For a Sign
  5. From the Dead
  6. Kill Fascists
  7. Lord of the Trenches
  8. Blackbox
  9. Step Aside
  10. Awaken the Night


Label: High Roller Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: June 30st, 2017

CD review STALLION "From the Dead"

CD review STALLION "Rise and ride"

Veröffentlicht am 1. September 2014 von Markus W. in Stallion, Heavy Metal, Accept, Running Wild, CD Review, News, Speed Metal

(7/10) I have to admit that I haven't heard from Stallion before. On the one hand not a big surprise since the guys released so far just a demo and an EP called "Mounting the world".

The debut of the band will get into the stores mid september this year. The name? "Rise and ride". When I have seen the cover I wasn't sure what I had to expect, but it was honestly not a lot what I thought I will get to hear. 

But than the first riff came out of the speaker and it was a very postive surprise. It was oldschool heavy metal with vocals from Pauly that felt like a time warp. All of a sudden tight spandex trousers, denim and leather became present again. Not to forget the studded belt.

The songs of Stallion show that they adore bands like Accept ("Bill to pay"), Judas Priest ("Wooden horse") and Running Wild ("Rise and ride"). There are also moments when I had to think about the US metal of Liege Lord as well. Gritty guitars, pounding drums and a pushing bass is chasing you through 43 minutes of heavy metal.

From a songwriting there is nothing to criticise. All songs are well crafted and performed in a good way. Also the sound of "Rise and ride" fits.

Stallion lives the cliche from all perspectives: music, lyrics and image. All this woth the topping of the unbounded energy of the youth. 

"Rise and ride" is wild, furious and a punch in the face. Retro metal can't be played and performed much better.





  1. Rise and ride
  2. Wild stallions
  3. Streets of sin
  4. Stigmatized
  5. Canadian steel
  6. Bill to pay
  7. Waych out
  8. The right one
  9. The devil never sleeps
  10. Wooden horse


Label: High Roller Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

CD review STALLION "Rise and ride"