Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013


CD review SORCERER "The Crowning of the Fire King"

Veröffentlicht am 20. Oktober 2017 von Markus W. in Sorcerer, Heavy Metal, NWoBHM, Classic Rock, Classic Metal, Doom Metal, Epic Metal, Power Metal, Metal Blade, CD Review, News

CD review SORCERER "The Crowning of the Fire King"

(9/10) In many aspects Sorcerer can‘t be equaled with ‚speed‘. This goes for their music as well as for the band‘s history. The metal Vikings, hailing from Stockholm, started back in the end of the 80‘s with two demos tapes ... and then came silence. I thing that the band is world record holder when it comes to the time span between band foundation and debut release. "In the Shadow of the Inverted Cross"  finally saw the light of day 27 years after Sorcerer began their journey.

Also Rome wasn't built on one day. Good things need time and what ripened over all these years, the debut became a terrific album in 2015, bringing traditional doom metal back into the spotlight. After such a tremendous (re-)start the metal world was waiting with full excitement for the sophomore record of this Swedish powerhouse. Just two years after having premiered the highly anticipated second record hits the shelves and it is another fantastic metal highlight.

Sorcerer stay true to themselves, not changing too much when it comes to their sound - and why should they. The mixture of doom metal and classic rock is thrilling. Done with a lot of passion and love for detail, Sorcerer recorded ten new metal anthems, belonging to the best this genre has seen since quite a while.

"The Crowning of the Fire King" offers 70 minutes of pure and spot-on riff power that includes a real masterpiece, surrounded by another nine well-executed tracks. It's the eight minutes title track "The Crowning of the Fire King' that's the centrepiece of this longplayer. Starting calm and with a mystic vibe the song slowly evolves to an epical one. A melodic chorus, excellent solos and an hymnal atmosphere make this number to an excellent metal track.

Actually none of the tune is short and easy. Sorcerer songs are more than just a quick pleasure. These numbers are metallic composition, unveiling the beauty of metal. The melodic opener "Sirens" is such a tune, showing all of the band's trademarks. In order to break the pattern the Stockholm-based powerhouse added with "Nattvaka" a short acoustic interlude that keeps the general atmosphere of this longplayer alive by still acting as a break of the regular flow. Like a halftime break it's a moment to regroup as a listener, preparing yourself for the exciting second half that's still to come.

Like mentioned in the beginning, Sorcerer's start was with low pace, but as soon as the guys were committed to go for it they all of a sudden release excellent slo-mo metal discs with razorblade-sharp riffs. A highlight of 2017.





  1. Sirens
  2. Ship of Doom
  3. Abandoned by the Gods
  4. The Devils Incubus
  5. Nattvaka
  6. Crimson Cross
  7. The Crowning of the Fire King
  8. Unbearable Sorrow
  9. Disciples of the Dark
  10. Bringer of Misery


Label: Metal Blade Records

Genre: Doom Metal

Release Date EU: October 20th, 2017


SORCERER's EP will be available digital via Metal Blade Records

Veröffentlicht am 12. Juni 2016 von Markus W. in Sorcerer, News, Doom Metal, Heavy Metal, Classic Metal

It was in November last year when Swedish doomsters Sorcerer released an independent EP called "Black", featuring 30 minutes of classy doom metal. The disc featured four songs and it was published on CD and vinyl only. Now it's Metal Blade Records that makes this doom record also digital available via Spotify, Apple Music or iTunes.



  1. Black
  2. Legion of the Serpent
  3. Into Oblivion
  4. Prayers for a King (acoustic Version)
SORCERER's EP will be available digital via Metal Blade Records

CD review SORCERER "In the shadow of the inverted cross"

Veröffentlicht am 20. März 2015 von Markus W. in Sorcerer, Candlemass, Doom Metal, Solitude Aeturnus, Heavy Metal, Power Metal, News, CD Review

(9/10) Doom is alive. That's great news. And there is a new/old band that will bring a smile on all melancholic faces of doom fans. Sorcerer is back with a new album. 

The band from Stockholm isn't new. Let's say that they had a longer break. The year of Sorcerer's foundation was back in 1988. After a few demo releases and a compilation the band came to an end. It took till 2010 when bassplayer Johnny Hagel (ex-Tiamat, ex-Sundown) and singer Anders Engberg (220 Volt) re-vitalised the band for a show at the Hammer Of Doom festival, followed by a gig at the Up The Hammer festival in Greece. The rest of the gang was easily found and the result of their cooperation is first real debut of the band - after 27 years. 

Eight songs have been chosen to end up on the album. All of them great doom anthems that can easily live up to songs from Candlemass and Solitude Aeturnus. Slow riff dominate the scene, sometimes endlessly repeated. 

It's hard to pick a few songs since they are all great. Regardless if you're listening to the slow "Lake of the lost souls", the Sabbath-/Dio like "Exorcise the demon" or the mighty title track "In the shadow of the inverted cross"; each of the tunes is pure gold for metalheads.

What needs to mentioned too is the excellent vocal performance of Anders Engberg who does a really good job on the album. The range of his voice is quite big -  from silent parts like in "Prayers for the king" up to higher tones in the faster "The gates of hell".

"In the shadow of the inverted cross" is a treat for (doom-) metal fans and should get a spot in your collection. Check the album - it is worth it. I would not wonder if this album ends up in some 2015 year polls.





  1. The dark tower of the sorcerer
  2. Sumerian scirpt
  3. Lake of the lost sould
  4. Excorcise the demon
  5. In the shadow of the inverted cross
  6. Prayers for a king
  7. The gates of hell
  8. Pagans dance


Label: Metals Blade

Genre: Doom Metal

CD review SORCERER "In the shadow of the inverted cross"

New SORCERER song online

Veröffentlicht am 26. Februar 2015 von Markus W. in Sorcerer, Doom Metal, Heavy Metal, Dark Metal, Classic Rock, News

Swedish doomsters Sorcerer stream a new song. The track is called "The dark tower of the sorcerer" and sound really good. Seems to become a great album from the Stockholm-based band.


SORCERER signs to Metal Blade

Veröffentlicht am 28. Januar 2015 von Markus W. in Sorcerer, Doom Metal, Power Metal, Heavy Metal, News, Video

Doom metal and Sweden, that's a combination that goe together very well. Now it's Metal Blade that signed one of those bands. Sorcerer from Stockholm will release their next album on the label. 

The band isn't a newcomer. Founded in 1988 the five-piece released two demos before they disbanded in 1992. It took till 2010 to bring the guys together again. The played a few festivals like Hammer Of Doom in Germany and after a while they decided to write new songs.


Those will be on the upcoming album "In the shadow of the inverted cross" that will be published March, 20th.

  1. And here comes the tracklist:
  2. The dark tower of the sorcerer
  3. Sumerian script
  4. Lake of the lost souls
  5. Excorcise the demon
  6. In the shadow of the invented cross
  7. Prayers for a king
  8. The gates of hell
  9. Pagans dance


Also check out the first video done for the title track.

SORCERER signs to Metal Blade