Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013


CD review JEN MAJURA "InZENity"

Veröffentlicht am 23. November 2017 von Markus W. in Jen Majura, Hardrock, Rock, Alternative Rock, Alternative Metal, Modern Rock, SOAL, CD Review, News

CD review JEN MAJURA "InZENity"

(8/10) Most of you might know Jen Majura as being a member of Evanescence. It was two years ago when the guitarist from Stuttgart, Germany was announced being a member of the highly successful dark metal outfit. Looking into the musical history of Jen Majura brings a lot of exciting projects to surface in which the singer/guitarist contributed. Majura was part of Knorkator as well as she was bass player in Equilibrium. And last but not least she contributed to Rage’s “Lord of the Flies” with a guest appearance and went on tour with Peavy Wagner and Co.

Next to all this exciting moments Jen never lost solo ambitions with the newest album being in the starting blocks. “inZENity” is the name of Jen Majura’s solo record that will be released on November 24th. The longplayer comprises 11 songs that fall under the header of ‘hardrock’. This gives you first idea about what to expect.

Hardrock music can cover a wide spectrum and in this case it’s much wider than solely straight-on songs. Those are on the album too, but due to creativity and talent this record features songs that are wild, furious and sometimes crazy. It’s mainly the unexpected twists that adds a diversity to it. Sometimes you listen to the opener of an album and you know how the rest will sound like. It’s different with “InZENity”. As soon as you think of having found a pattern things take another direction, leading to songs like the title track and "Sick Brain". What, on top of all this, enriches the album is a contribution of no less than Alex Skolnik (Testament), Jeff Waters (Annihilator), Mattias Eklundh (Freak Kitchen) and more.

“InZENity” became a really good longplayer that shows how widely the frames of hardrock can be interpreted. Jen Majura is an all-rounder when it comes to music and that’s what she embedded in each of the 11 songs. Good music for fans that want to be a bit challenged here and there.





  1. All the other ones
  2. InZENity
  3. Leave me
  4. Drama Queen
  5. Bully lies
  6. Lied ohne Namen
  7. Sick brain
  8. Stupid piece of wood
  9. Tobi didn’t show up for breakfast
  10. Like Chuck Norris
  11. Far away


Label: SAOL

Genre: Hardrock

Release Date EU: November 24th, 2017


CD review ASSIMILATION "The Laws of Power"

Veröffentlicht am 4. April 2017 von Markus W. in Assimilation, SOAL, Death Metal, Thrash Metal, News, CD Review, Heavy Metal

(7/10) Vancouver, British Colambia is the hometown of this death metal powerhouse that comes up with oldschool metal. Death metal roots and thrash influences are blended, leading to ten songs that all made it on the band's debut. 

After having published an EP, entitled "Apotheosis", the fourpiece band came up with their debut, which was published a few days ago. "The Laws of Power" is a brutal metal attack that takes its inspiration from bands like Possessed, Dark Angel and old school US death Metal. 

The two key components of Assimilation are the deep growls of Jesse Jardine and the pretty good guitar sound of Matthew Chanway. Combined with a rhythm section that's powering like a working horse, the band delivers a sonic assault that right into your face.

This album comes with well-done songs, even though some are real highlights while some others are more average. The album doesn't give you a moment of peace and silence. It's a sinister growls and a raging riff that kicks-off the title track,. "Sigil of the False God" isn't a milestone in death metal. It's more the raw and edgy underground spirit that gives this album its special vibe. The opener delivers the blueprint for the other nine songs that, with a bit of variation, are uncompromising metal blasts. Songs you should have heard are, next to the opener, "Mastery" and "Personal Vendetta".

What actually could have helped the songs and the album would have been a better production. The sound is mostly too flat and doesn't fully support the aggressiveness that included in the songs. 

Anyhow, "The Laws of Power" is a well-done debut that fans of Possessed and Obituary should check out. Assimilation shows some potential that can be further evolved on a next longplayer.





  1. Sigil Of The False God
  2. Decapitated By Beasts
  3. Laws Of Power
  4. Karmic Future
  5. Mastery
  6. Apotheosis
  7. Remotion Of The Succubus
  8. ersonal Vendetta
  9. S.L.D.
  10. Massive Liquidation
  11. Apotheosis (2015)
  12. Decapitated By Beasts (2015)
  13. Idle No More (2015)
  14. Personal Vendetta (2015) 


Label: SOAL

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: March 17th, 2017

CD review ASSIMILATION "The Laws of Power"