Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013


CD review SEVENDUST "All I See is War"

Veröffentlicht am 6. Mai 2018 von Markus W. in Sevendust, Modern Metal, CD Review, News, All I See is War

CD review SEVENDUST "All I See is War"

(8/10) Atlanta, Georgia based Sevendust worked hard on the successor of the band's 2015 release "Kill the Flaw". In the meantime things progressed and the next record is ready to be shipped to the record stores.

"All I See is War" is Sevendust's 11th longplayer and the first one for their new label Rise Records. In an interview with All That Shred guitarist John Connelly talked about the creative process for the new record. The band wrote far more songs than what ended up on the tracklist. In total 50-60 songs have been the pool to choose from and in the end 12 new tracks ended up on this excellent longplayer.

The new album starts with "Dirty", which is a heavy grooving track with a certain Tool-expression. With a bit more than 3 minutes of length the tune is spot-on and helps the album to get out of the boxes very easily. After such a great start into the album it is "God Bites His Tongue" that continues the winning streak. "Medicated" is rounding of the starting triple and all three songs together showcase Sevendust's great sense for heavy modern riffing and well-executed melodies. These two ingredients, together with a merciless pounding rhythm section, can be seen as the most important elements of Sevendust's sound, on earlier records and on "All I See is War".

I couldn't identify any weak spot when it comes to the tracklist. To use a standard term: No fillers, just killers. Regardless if we are talking about the exciting interplay of loud and calm in "Monuments", the catchy "Descend" or the aggressive "The Truth" - each of these tunes is very well-crafted and it's a joyful experience, listening to this longplayer. 

Spring 2018 is obviously a great time for fans of modern alternative rock and metal. Godsmack releases a new album and so does Shinedown. Last but not least it's the new Sevendust longplayer that will be a delight for fans of this genre. I like "All I See is War". It's the energy, dynamic and great melody lines, making this longplayer to a true highlight and a treat for your ears. It's an album to recommend.





  1. Dirty
  2. God Bites His Tongue
  3. Medicated
  4. Unforgiven
  5. Sickness
  6. Cheers
  7. Risen
  8. Moments
  9. Nor Original
  10. Descend
  11. Life Deceives You
  12. The Truth
  13. All I Ready Know (Bonus)
  14. What You Are (Bonus)


Label: Rise Records

Genre: Modern Metal

Release Date EU: May 11th, 2018


Sevendust on YouTube

Sevendust on Facebook


CD review PROJECTED "Ignite My Insanity"

Veröffentlicht am 9. September 2017 von Markus W. in Projected, Sevendust, Alter Bridge, Modern Metal, Modern Rock, Alternative Metal, Alternative Rock, News, CD Review, Rat Pak Records, Mark Tremonti

CD review PROJECTED "Ignite My Insanity"

(9/10) Wait a second. Catchy melodies and heavy guitar riffing, where have we heard this earlier? True, Sevendust made use of this principle since many years and Projected does the same. This isn't a coincidence knowing that Sevendust guitarist John Conolly is one quarter of Projected, a supergroup that also comprises Sevendust's bassist Vinnie Hornsby, Scott Phillips (Alter Bridge) and Eric Friedman (Tremonti).

"Ignite My Insanity" is the sophomore release of the quartet that debut with "Human" in 2012. Since a few weeks the new album is now available also in Europe  and if you haven't heard it yet, you should close this gap - the sooner the better. 

The musical background of the four musicians involved gives you a pretty good idea of what to expect from this two CD release. Melodic alternative metal with a modern approach is what these songs are about. The joy with the album is that it feels like being done with an ease, not being overloaded with sky-high expectations. The four-piece band made us of all the liberty provided and created a jaw-dropping good double decker.

"Ignite My Insanity" contains all ingredients you want to get served with such a musical feast. Soulful ballads like "Faith" are part of the game as well as brutal riff monsters, a category "Six Feet Below" belongs to. Tunes like "Ignite" are a well-crafted mix of great vocal lines in the chorus, a psychedelic verse and furious guitars. A song that's merciless pushing is entitled "Vain" and I could continue since the album is thrilling from beginning to end. Anyhow, I would like to mention two more songs. "Rectify" and "Call Me the Devil" have been co-written by Mark Tremonti, adding a slightly other touch to the tracks by still fitting in the context of the album.

The only question is if 21 songs are a bit too much. On the other hand, they are all good, profiting from a dynamic and powerful production. So, who cares. Each of these songs hit bulls eye and that's what counts.

What's amazing is the fact that Projected is a side project only. These songs would deserve to be performed live since they belong to the best alternative metal brought up to surface over the last years. "Ignite My Insanity" is loud, heavy, soulful and enthralling. This album is a 'must' for Sevendust- and Alter Bridge-fans.





CD 1:

  1. Strike
  2. Reload
  3. Six Feet Below
  4. Vain
  5. Rectify
  6. Faith
  7. Gomorrah
  8. Heaven Above
  9. 10 Years Gone
  10. Only

CD 2:

  1. Fire
  2. Ignite
  3. Call Me the Devil
  4. Concede
  5. Inhuman
  6. Better
  7. Hate You Back
  8. Upside Down
  9. Seconds
  10. Inside the Sun
  11. Battlestations


Label: Rat Pak Records

Genre: Modern Metel

Release Date EU: August 18th, 2017