Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013


CD review SACRILEGE "Behind The Realms of Madness"

Veröffentlicht am 26. November 2015 von Markus W. in Sacrilege, Power Metal, Thrash Metal, Crust, Punk, Hardcore, News, CD Review

(8/10) It was 30 years ago when Birmingham-based hardcore punks of Sacrilege released their "Behind the Realms of Madness" longplayer. Having started as crustcore band the guys included more and more thrash elements in their sound; something that led to this well done album. 

Relapse Records 're-discovered' this brute longplayer and re-issued it as part of their death-/thrash re-release series.

Something that makes Sacrilege pretty unique is singer Lynda "Tam" Simpson with her wild shouts and bloodcurdling screams. It's a mixture of anger and rage that breaks through in each of the songs, something that is also reflected in the band's lyrics. Social and political relevant topics have been adressed and Sacrilege broached the topics of this time.

Next to the extraordinary vocals it's the simple but efficient riffs that makes the album to a special one. Tunes like "Shadow of Mordor" celebrate almost endless one riff; broken-up by cool leads. Or check out "Flight of the Nazgul" witch is a furious trasher that stands like rock.

The only band I could compare Sacrilege with is Détente with the unforgotten Dawn Crosby (RIP) behind the mic. And even though Détente came from sunny California instead of the rainy Birmingham, both bands had more in common that 'just' an outstanding front-woman.

Relapse Records has again chosen a classic of thrash metal that undeservedly never really got the attention that it should have got. If you missed the album in the 80's it's time to close this gap - here and now.





  1. Lifeline
  2. Shadow from Mordor
  3. At Deaht's Door
  4. A Violation of Something Sacred
  5. The Closing Irony
  6. Out of Sight, Out of Mind
  7. The Captive
  8. Flight of the Nazgul
  9. Sight of the Wise
  10. Feed
  11. Dig Your Own Grave
  12. The Closing Irony (Live)
  13. Bloodrun (Live)


Label: Relapse Records

Genre: Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: November 13th, 2015

CD review SACRILEGE "Behind The Realms of Madness"

CD review SACRILEGE "Ashes to ashes"

Veröffentlicht am 7. Juli 2015 von Markus W. in Sacrilege, NWoBHM, Heavy Metal, Rock, Power Metal, News, CD Review

(8/10) Sacrilege - there are some bands with this name. Here we are talking about the NWoBHM veterans from the UK that started in 1982. The band didn't release more than two demos before they dibanded in 1987.

It was twenty years later when Bill Beadle put again some more effort into the band. The result was a compilation and an album.

After such a history the band is releasing a new album as we speak. "Ashes to ahses" is the name of the longplayer, containing fourteen songs. The record feels like a journey back in time. No doubt that there is a lot of NWoBHM in each of the songs. Sometimes it's a bit more Accept, other moments reminded me the the early Running Wild and so on. Even some punk roots are still included in Sacrilege's sound ("Rulers and destructors").

The pleasure with "Ashes to ashes" is the perfect imperfection. This starts with the sound of the album, which is a very good one. But it is also far away from an overdone production. This is the first factor which gives the album some own character. This is the sound of the 80's 

The songs are also spreading a kind of raw charme. It is more the passion that rules the game. Tunes like "The traveller", the pushing "Rock'n'roll with the devil" and the title track "Ashes to ashes" are a treat for each of you that has been part of the NWoBHM.

A track that stands out too is "The unkown soldier" which is an eight minutes long epos that follows very much one pattern by still being exciting enough to keep the finger away from the skip-button.

I like "Ashes to ashes" where older demo stuff meets new songs. Cool stuff \m/





  1. The traveller
  2. The dawn it dies
  3. Rock'n'roll with the devil
  4. Condemned
  5. The ruler
  6. Feeling on the humans
  7. The fight back
  8. Rulers and destructors
  9. Ascention
  10. Help
  11. Ashes to ashes
  12. The unkown soldier
  13. Gates of hell
  14. Evolution


Label: Karthago Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release date EU: June 26th, 2015

CD review SACRILEGE "Ashes to ashes"