Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013


CD review RYKER'S "Never Meant to Last"

Veröffentlicht am 10. Oktober 2015 von Markus W. in Ryker's, Sick Of It All, Hardcore, Punkrock, Punk, News, CD Review, Mosh

(8/10) Ryker's, never call them The Ryker's, have released an excellent reunion EP a few months ago that is now followed by a brand new studio longplayer. Perfect news for each hardcore fan. What makes this news even better is the fact that the guys from Kassel might got a few years older but didn't loose any power during this period of absence. It was already inicated by the EP and finds its continuation on "Never meant to last" - the guys are back in old strength. In contrast to the title of the new longplayer I must say that this disc is recorded to last.

The first thing that stands out is the new man behind the mic. Kid-D left the band after many years but there is all good. Ryker's found in no time an excellent replacer. Dennis (aka Sergeant D.) took over the vcoals and he fits perfect to the sound of Ryker's.

Fourteen hardcore tracks fill the album and bring back the typical Ryker's spirit. That the band has still a very solid status in the hardcore scene shows already the fact of a guest appearences like the one of Craig Ahead (Sick Of It All) on the mighty "High Five in Your Face With a Chair".

Furthermore the new album covers all the trademarks of this iconic non-US hardcore band. The five-piece builds in heavy riffs in their songs ("The Tenth Level") which reflects the metal side of Ryker's. Songs like "Pig Justice" have the hardcore groove while "The Downfall" brings an extensive mosh part. And "The Outcast's Voice" reminded me in the end even a bit to the old Spermbirds songs.

"Cowboy Song" is a surprisingly quiet song when it comes to Ryker's. It sounds almost like a Faith No More number and it feels like the silence after the storm. A cool closer of a great new release.

"Never Meant to Last" misses a real outstanding smasher like "Hunting season" but there is enough great stuff on this longplayer that is more than a compensation. Ryker's are back and I hope they came to stay.





  1. My Demons
  2. Fair Play Overrated (feat. Mike Dijan)
  3. Pig Justice
  4. The Outcast's Voice
  5. The Tenth Level
  6. We Ain't Going Away (feat. Samuel El Action)
  7. The Age of...
  8. The Downfall
  9. Back to The People
  10. Enemy of The People
  11. Distractions (feat. Craig Ahead)
  12. Rememberance
  13. High Five in Your Face With a Chair
  14. Cowboy Song


Label: BDHW Records

Genre: Hardcore

Release Date EU: October 16th, 2015

CD review RYKER'S "Never Meant to Last"

New RYKER'S song posted

Veröffentlicht am 12. September 2015 von Markus W. in Ryker's, News, Video, Hardcore, Punk, Thrash Metal

German hardcore legend Ryker's will release a new album in October. "Never Meant To Last" is the name of the disc and "High Five In Your Face With A Chair" is the first new song, posted as a video. Here you go...


CD review RYKER'S "Hard to the core"

Veröffentlicht am 25. April 2014 von Markus W. in Ryker's, Hardcore, CD Review, News

(8/10) German hardcore legend Ryker's are back. Founded in 1992 in Kassel, Germany the band released with records like "Ground zero" some great hardcore discs. It has been those records which lead to a lot of enthusiastic feedback. The Ryker's have been grown to one of the really influential acts in the 90's. Therefore it was a sad moment when the band disbanded in 2000.

After few try-outs in the last years the band decided to produce a new album. "Hard to the core" is the result of this fruitful work and will be released in May this year. It became the expected killer.
In total nine songs hit you like a hammer. All of them are straight-forward hardcore anthems between 2 and 3 minutes. This leads me immediately to my critisism. The running time is with 24 minutes far too short. Why are there not more songs on the album?

But if we take it from the stand point 'quality before quantity' we can life with the short playing time. The highlight of the album is the title track "Hard to the core". A very fast beginning of the tune leads to a quite grooving middle part which couldn't have been done better by Agnostic Front. A heavy and damn cool track which reminds a bit to "Haunting season" from the earlier mentioned "Ground zero" album. Also the following "Can't kill a dream" is an awesome song and belongs to my faves on the album. What I like most with this track is the almost hypnotic repetition of "You can't kill a dream" towards the end. Well done. The closer "Sound of broken bottles" is actually not more than an outro. The title says it all - sound of broken bottles. That's what you hear. So we can conclude that it's eight great hardcore tracks on the album which clearly state that Ryker's are back.

Great album, which makes great fun to listen too. Just a bit too short - but we had that already. Welcome back Ryker's.



  1. The world as I see it today
  2. Hard to the core
  3. Can't kill a dream
  4. Time heals...
  5. Divided by colours
  6. Born to fly
  7. Slave cruel world
  8. World wide trap
  9. The beautiful sound of broken bottles

Label: BDHW
Genre: Hardcore

CD review RYKER'S "Hard to the core"

RYKER'S are back

Veröffentlicht am 17. März 2014 von Markus W. in Ryker's, Hardcore, News

German hardcore institution Ryker's are back. They even work on a new album called "Hard to the core" which will be released via BDHW Records on May 2nd. Welcome back guys.

Photo: Band Promotion

Photo: Band Promotion