Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013


CD review RPWL "The New Dawn"

Veröffentlicht am 9. Juli 2017 von Markus W. in RPWL, Gentle Art Of Music, Prog Metal, Prog Rock, Rock, CD Review, News

CD review RPWL "The New Dawn"

(9/10) German prog rocker RPWL started their journey in rock in 1997 and since then the guys from Bavaria can look back on quite some releases with the latest studio album called “Wanted” from 2014. In order to celebrate their two decades anniversary, RPWL decided to go for something special and fortunately they also documented the 'party' for each and every one that’s interested.

As being the final show of their 2015 tour, promoting “Wanted”, the band came home to Freising, Germany for playing the final gig of this tour. The combination of an anniversary year for the band plus playing a show at home inspired the band to do something special. Instead of a mere concert RPWL took a much wider approach for this show.

Not only playing the songs on stage, it was the theatric way of also interpreting the tunes on stage that made this night to a special one. RPWL came with a full production that included the musicians as well as up to 50 actors, creating a unique moment of music and scenery melting together to something exciting new. In addition multimedia elements have been used to completed the perfect and highly professional expression of this unusual show. And yes, it was more show that a concert.

Going for such an endeavor includes the risk of giving to much attention to the visuals or creating a competitive situation between scenery and songs. The beauty with this concert was and is the fact that the music’s still in focus. Thinking about great tunes like ”Disbelief” and “Wanted” definitely a good decision. The entire actor play and visuals are more used as an addition the emphasis the various tracks.

In case you want to have the full package you can go for the DVD/BluRay but to be honest, I think the CD version is even more exciting since it’s only the songs doing the job. It feels a bit less (over)loaded to me, but again – it’s the joy for everybody to pick what fits best when it comes to bring this special evening right into your living room.




Tracklist CD:

  1. Revelation
  2. Swords and Guns
  3. A Clear Cut Line
  4. Wanted
  5. Like To Like
  6. The Fisherman
  7. Hide and Seek
  8. Disbelief
  9. Misguided Thought
  10. Still Asleep
  11. Perfect Day
  12. Terror
  13. The Attack
  14. A New Dawn
  15. Revelation Reprise
  16. Unchain the Earth (Encore)
  17. Hole in the Sky (Encore)


Label: Gentle Art Of Music

Genre: Prog Rock

Release Date EU: July 14th, 2017


CD review RPWL "Wanted"

Veröffentlicht am 3. Mai 2014 von Markus W. in RPWL, Prog Rock, Prog Metal, CD Review, News

(9/10) German prog rockers RPWL released already a few days ago their new album called "Wanted". The five guys from Freising, Germany are an established part of the prog scene and they have in the meantime quite some excellent releases in their discography. The last one was in 2012 and was called „Beyond man and time“, which will be followed now by „Wanted“.

The best song from my perspective sits in the end of the album. "A new dawn" is the name of the tune and it's a beautiful piece of music. It's a very slow song, accoustic based with very senseful lyrics. A great closer for a excellent album which reminds a bit to a lullaby.

But let's start from the beginning. To my surprise the album starts with some electro samples. It almost feels like the introduction to the love parade, but only for the first seconds. As soon as the guitar appears the song gets its rocking colour. "Revelation" is the name of the tune, which is purely instrumental and has a strong theme. An awesome beginning of the new album. Dark and gritty we start into the second track. "Sword and guns" is the name of it and the titel gives you already the idea that it's not a love song. Eight minutes long RPWL creates soundscapes which are complex but still easy to listen to. This is generally spoken a big benefit/advantage of the band. The musicians have a big capability and use this to write demanding music by not loosing the focus on the song itself. It's not about the musicians, it's about the song and the totality of sound. I personally also like the title track. The melody which comes with the song is easy but very effective. The song sticks.  The pumping bass part towards the end gives the 'light' song an additional note. The reflecting "Hide and seek" starts accoustically before it builds up just to fall back into fragile accoustic setup. A great composition. 

Conclusion: RPWL strenghten their position as one of the best prog rock bands in Europe. An album you should name your own.





  1. Revelation
  2. Swords and guns
  3. A clear cut line
  4. Wanted
  5. Hide and seek
  6. Disbelief
  7. Misguided thought
  8. Perfect day
  9. The attack
  10. A new dawn


Label: gentle art of music

Genre: Prog Metal

CD review RPWL "Wanted"