Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

robin beck

New song from ROBIN BECK's online

Veröffentlicht am 20. Juli 2017 von Markus W. in Robin Beck, News, Hardrock, Rock, AOR

New song from ROBIN BECK's online

Robin Beck is truly one of the most gifted vocalists under the broad umbrella of rock music and it was with great pleasure that Frontiers welcomed her back to the label for her new album, “Love Is Coming”! The album sees her partnering with Clif Magness (Steve Perry, Avril Lavigne, and many more) and James Christian (House of Lords), who produced and mixed the album, with Maor Appelbaum handling the mastering. Hit after hit after hit after hit is the best description of the tracklisting. An album encompassing melodic rock to gritty soul inspired rock is what you can expect from this gem. As Robin says, “it had to be better than anything I've ever done in the last 20 years and I believe I have accomplished that.”

Clif Magness says, "I've worked with some of the best and most inspirational female vocalists in the world and Robin Beck most definitely stands among them. Her talent combined with her tenacity and her effervescent personality all add up to an amazing human being."

Robin Beck says: "Songs like these don't come around often enough! I'm spellbound by the richness of the music and the lyrical force of every song. Sure to keep your heart pumping, unless you don't have one!!”


The album is entitled "Love is Coming" and will be released on October 13 via Frontiers Music.

1. Island
2. On The Bright Side
3. In These Eyes
4. Love Is Coming
5. Me Just Being Me
6. On To Something
7. Lost
8. Crave The Touch
9. If You Only Knew
10. Here I Am
11. Girl Like Me
12. Warrior 



CD review Robin Beck "Underneath"

Veröffentlicht am 17. August 2013 von Markus W. in Robin Beck, Hardrock, CD Review

This album is the surprise of the month to me. Of course we know Robin Beck from the eighties, when she had her big hit(s) "First time". But she had also more really great hardrock songs like "Save up all your tears". The whole album "All or nothing" was pretty good and it was also a good thing to re-release an updated version in 2009.

Now Robin Beck released her new record called "Underneath". For me the record was a big positive surprise since it is a really good one. For me it is even better than the latest release from her husband James Christian (House Of Lords). "Underneath" has a lot of rock'n'roll charm, a good production and still a rough feeling. It has the warmth which this kind of music needs. This has to do with the rough and smokey voice from Robin Beck, but also the guitars are more dominant than the keyboards.

The songs on the album were written by her and James Christian, but also by Glen Burtnik, Barry Jay and Fiona.

The album starts with "Wrecking ball" which has a great guitar in the beginning. It's a good opener which sets the tone for the rest of the album. "Ain't that just like love" convinces with a great melody which you can keep in mind directly. The song actually reminds me a bit to Heart in the earlier years - esp. in the chorus. "Sprain" is a good rocker and the voice of Beck sounds in the verse even a little bit like Alanis Morrisette. After three rock songs it's time for the first ballad of the album. The title track is a soft and catchy ballad with a nice melody. Nothing special but good performed. "Catfight" goes a little bit into the direction Pink and "Check your attitude" has a great guitar and is actually a pretty fast track. I'm tempted to say that the song has even a kind of punky expression. For me one of the best songs on the album together with "Perfect storm". With "I swear" the album has also a power ballad with an intense chorus and calm, melodic verse. "Follow you" - another powerful rock song, kicks you out of the album.

All in all "Underneath" is a good rock album from a great singer. I like it more than the latest solo output from James Christian and I wish that Bon Jovi would release albums with songs in that quality. Well done Robin Beck.



  1. Wrecking ball
  2. Ain't that just like love
  3. Spain
  4. Underneath
  5. Catfight
  6. Check your attitude
  7. Burnin' me down
  8. Perfect storm
  9. Ya can't fight love
  10. I swear the nights
  11. Follow you

Label: HMMR Records/Cargo Records

Genre: Hardrock/AOR