Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

rick springfield

CD review RICK SPRINGFIELD "The Snake King"

Veröffentlicht am 3. Februar 2018 von Markus W. in Rick Springfield, The Snake King, Rock, Hardrock, News, Frontiers Music, CD Review

CD review RICK SPRINGFIELD "The Snake King"

(7/10) Two years after having released the latest longplayer "Rocket Science" Australian singer/guitarist Rick Springfield has a new album ready to connect to fans all over the world. The artist from Guildford, New South Wales, Australia began his musical endeavour in the early 60's and release since then twenty records - a solid career with some highlights included.

The newest addition to Springfield’s discography got the title "The Snake King" which includes twelve new songs and it's expect the unexpected when it comes to this release. While the predecessor focused on hard rocking songs it's this time the blues that gets into the spotlight, a twist that couldn't be foreseen but shows the wider musical framework of Springfield.

"Land of the Blind" is the first song listeners get to hear. It's a tune that has a warm tone and a lot of melody. Blues isn't that much in the forefront. It's a more gently swinging opener with quite some 'uhlalala' in the chorus.

The real blues vibe comes a bit later on the album. Songs like biting "The Devil That You Know" gets you closer but it's "Judas Tree" that unveils Springfield's blues passion. For down the road songs like "Suicide Manifesto" increases speed a bit, "The Voodoo House" adds a Southern rock touch to the total while the blues comes back with "Blues for the Disillusion".

"The Snake King" is an album that's entertaining, containing no filler. Each of the 12 songs is well-crafted and it's a pleasureful experience listening to the album. The only 'but' in this context is the fact that there's also not a real killer song on "The Snake King", one or moments that stands out. Springfield's newest longplayer is very solid blues rock album ... not more, but also not less.





  1. Land of the Blind
  2. The Devil That You Know
  3. Little Demon
  4. Judas Tree
  5. Jesus Was an Atheist
  6. The Snake King
  7. God Don't Care
  8. The Voodoo House
  9. Suicide Manifesto
  10. Blues From the Disillusioned
  11. Santa is an Anagram
  12. Orpheus in the Underworld


Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: January 26th, 2018


CD review RICK SPRINGFIELD "Rocket Science"

Veröffentlicht am 18. Februar 2016 von Markus W. in Rick Springfield, Rock, Hardrock, News, CD Review, Melodic Metal, Melodic Rock, AOR

(8/10) After having been very successful during the eighties, Australian actor, singer and songwriter Rick Springfield is back with good music. The last albums of the musicians from Guildford, New South Wales have been very promising and at least my expectations have been very high when it comes to his new release.

"Rocket Science" is the name of the longplayer that has to prove that Springfield can continue walking on this successful road made out of catchy (hard)rock tunes. On the other hand, it's his 18th record, so what needs to be proved.

Anyhow, let's listen to "Rocket Science". The first song that has been posted as video was "Light This Party up" which is the opener of the new disc. The start couldn't have been chosen much better, since this rockin' tune will light up every party. "Down" follows. Number two on the tracklist is tasty rock song that is catchy but not cheesy. Springfield finds the right mixture to keep his song true and authentic, something that's ref;ected already in the opening double.

One of the coolest tracks on "Rocket Science" got the title "Miss Mayhem". Starting slow and easy the tune fits somewhere between blues and country. It's a number that sticks out from the rest which makes it really special. However, it still fits into the context of this longplayer and is 100% Rick Springfield.

"Rocket Science" comes also with some slower songs of which "Found" is the best one. It's a well done ballad that, again, isn't any mainstream stuff. 

Towards the end you will find another tune that differs slightly from the rest. "All Hands on Deck" has a cool Irish bar flavour which does the job very well.

"Rocket Science" is the right album for Springfield fans and everybody that was disappointed by Bon Jovi's latest releases. Excellent hardrock with a positive vibe - that's Springfield's newest album. A great teaser for the summertime.





  1. Light This Party Up
  2. Down
  3. That One
  4. The Best Damn Thing
  5. Miss Mayhem
  6. Pat It Forward
  7. Found
  8. Crowded Solitude
  9. Let Me In
  10. All Hands on Deck
  11. We Connect
  12. (I Wish I Had a) Concrete Heart
  13. Earth to Angel


Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Hardrock

Release Date EU: February 19th, 2016

CD review RICK SPRINGFIELD "Rocket Science"

CD review RICK SPRINGFIELD "Stripped down"

Veröffentlicht am 28. Februar 2015 von Markus W. in Rick Springfield, Rock, Classic Rock, Hardrock, AOR, News, CD Review

(8/10) "Stripped down" is an acoustic album of Rick Springfield that shows his sensitive side. Over the last two years the guy from Sydney, Australia played a series of inimate solo shows which build the base for the new album. 

The longplayer contains fourteen Springfield songs from different periods of the singer/guitarist. "Jessie's girl" are on the album as well as "I've done everything for you" from the 1981 release "Working class dog". 

1981 was the time when the big success start for Springfield. But it was also a year where pain and suffering had a big impact on him. It was the year when his father died, what showed the six-stringer that live isn't only good or bad. It always has both components. This experiences ended in a great song called "April 24th, 1981 / My father's chair" that is introduced by the Australian musician with a heart-warming story.

With "Love somebody" another hit of the multi talented artist found a way on the album plus many more. As with "My father's chair some of those introduced by a short story too.

It's exactly those stories which makes the album special. Springfield doesn't 'only' play acoustic version of his song; he introduces them by giving them more background and a context. And the singer/guitarist opens up a lot by sharing private experiences. This gave the shows a special vibe and vulnerability which makes the recording so authentic and real. 

After two great new albums, "Venus overdrive" and "Songs for the end of the world", Rick Springfield released with "Stripped down" an amazing acoustic album that takes you an unforgettable emotional journey. Highly recommended.





  1. Affair of the heart
  2. Love is alright tonight
  3. I've done everything for you
  4. Painted girl
  5. Oh well
  6. Love somebody
  7. Baby blue
  8. Rollin' & tumblin'
  9. If wishes were fishes
  10. Don't talk to strangers
  11. April 24th, 1981 / My father's chair
  12. Me and Johnny
  13. Human touch
  14. Jessie's girl


Label: Loud & Proud Records / earMusic

Genre: Rock

CD review RICK SPRINGFIELD "Stripped down"

RICK SPRINGFIELD publishes a new video

Veröffentlicht am 5. Februar 2015 von Markus W. in Rick Springfield, Rock, Acoustic, News, Video, Hardrock, AOR

Guitarist Rick Springfield posted a new song on YouTube. It's an acoustic performance of "Jessie's girl" and is taken from the coming live album "Stripped down". Pure acoustic rock.