Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013


CD review ESCAPE THE FATE "I am Human"

Veröffentlicht am 27. März 2018 von Markus W. in Escape The Fate, News, Modern Metal, Alternative Metal, Metalcore, CD Review, Eleven Seven Music, Post-Hardcore

CD review ESCAPE THE FATE "I am Human"

(6/10) "I am Human" is Escape The Fate's 6th longplayer. The album will be released on March 30st which means that fans had to wait a bit longer since the release day was moved by a few weeks. However, here it is.

"I am Human" is slightly different. "Empire", unveiled as a video a while ago, gave already a first indication of what to expect. The band from Pahrump, Nevada always added a solid portion of melody to their postcore/metalcore songs, but this time the go one step further. Elements of pop music found their way into most of the songs on "I am Human", with synthesisers that are close to the edge of becoming cheesy. "Broken Heart" is such a song that has the bigger masses in focus and "Resistance" is more of a friendly 'No' rather than real 'resistance'.

Last but not least there is an acoustic ballad on the tracklist. "If Only" is the title of the distracting track that immediately brings up the question of why this song ends up on an album of a former post-hardcore band. 

Some better moment, even though still being far away from post-hardcore, are the heavy "Digging My Own Grave" and harder "Recipe For Disaster". "Riot" is not too bad either and reflects the sleaze influences in a dominant way. 

With having all this in mind I can't give more than points to an album that includes songs that are a bit too much mainstream-based. I can't get rid of a thinking that commercial success was steering too much and that's why the band played safe with "I am Human".





  1. Beautifully Tragic
  2. Broken Heart
  3. Four Letter Word
  4. I Will Make It Up to You
  5. Bleed for Me
  6. Do You Love Me?
  7. I Am Human
  8. If Only
  9. Empire
  10. Recipe for Disaster
  11. Riot
  12. Digging My Own Grave
  13. Resistance
  14. Let Me Be


Label: Eleven Seven Music

Genre: Melodic Metalcore

Release Date EU: March 30st, 2018


CD review ANNISOKAY "Enigmatic smile"

Veröffentlicht am 24. März 2015 von Markus W. in Annisokay, Post-Hardcore, Modern Metal, Metalcore, News, CD Review

(6/10) Not even one years after debut "The lucid dream(er)" the band from Halle, Germany releases their next album. "Enigmatic smile" is the title of the new longplayer that comes with eleven new songs.

In general I can say that there isn't that much new to report. The new disc takes up where the band stopped with the predisessor. Their mix of of post hardcore and modern metal dominantes also "Enigmatic smile".

Songs like "Naked city" are very representative for the album. There is the might riffing part in the middle of the track while there are also very melodic vocal lines that turns into deep shouting before the song finds back to a strong melody. All comes together in "Naked city" very well.

The other tunes on the longplayer follow the same pattern. In principle it is done quite well but it also makes the album one-dimensional. After a while I got the feeling of 'having heard it before'. A four track EP might have been enough.

The only song that is slightly different is "Life cycles". The tune is a slower track that shows the more fragile side of the band from Germany. The base is a highly melodic and soulful vocalline that is supported by some reduced guitars and samples. For me an appreciated break on the album.

When it comes to the production of the album everything is okay. "Enigmatic smile" got a dense and powerful sound that is, for my ears, well mixed. A big plus of the record.

For the coming releases it would be great if Annisokay would break out more often out of their comfort zone and add more elements to their music that surprises the listener. 





  1. Carry me away
  2. Naked city
  3. Snowblind
  4. Panic attack
  5. Wolves in the walls
  6. Fragile line
  7. Traveler
  8. Life cycles
  9. Fame
  10. New autumn light
  11. What is left


Label: Long Brach Records

Genre: Post-Hardcore

CD review ANNISOKAY "Enigmatic smile"