Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013


CD review STONE TEMPLE PILOTS "Stone Temple Pilots"

Veröffentlicht am 17. März 2018 von Markus W. in Stone Temple Pilots, STP, News, CD Review, Grunge, Post-Grunge, Alternative Metal, Alternative Rock, Rhino

CD review STONE TEMPLE PILOTS "Stone Temple Pilots"

(8/10) Grunge was invented in Seattle and that's where iconic bands like Pearl Jam, Soundgarden, Alice In Chains and many more came from. In parallel a rock outfit was formed in San Diego, California that started with a similar sound. Scott Weiland, Dean DeLeo, Robert DeLeo and Eric Kretz began under the banner of Mighty Joe Young, which was changed to Stone Temple Pilots rather quickly. The quartet successfully surfed on the grunge wave with their debut entitled "Core", which was published in 1990. This first album pushed the band from zero to hero in no time. "Core" had chart entries in the US and Europe, including brilliant songs like "Sex Type Thing" and "Plush". "Core" is still the best album the band ever released, at least in my humble opinion.

What followed was a period of ups and down and luckily fans can welcome the band's seventh album this year. Simply entitled "Stone Temple Pilots" the new album features twelve songs of which "Meadow" was the first single that was unveiled in November last year. The interesting thing with the name of this longplayer is the fact that it's the second one in a row that comes with the bands name only on the cover. I guess that this is something really unique and I can't remember a band that did something like this before.

"Stone Temple Pilots" is the first album with new singer Jeff Gutt and the first one without the band's original vocalist Scott Weiland who passed away in 2015. "Stone Temple Pilots" doesn't look back so much. The quartet looks forward and the self-titled album expresses this approach very well. "Stone Temple Pilots" (the first one) closed an era of the band and the second strike starts a new one.

"Middle of Nowhere" is the grooving opener of the record with the slower paced "Guilty" being the next hit on the list.  Grunge roots are partly included in the latter even though the tune itself comes with a wider style expression. "Meadow" is the earlier mentioned first release from the album and has some hit potential, while "Six Eight" brings back the rocking foundation. The gently swinging "Thought She'd Be Mine" takes over and also "The Art of Letting Go" represents a calm moment on the album with a solid portion of melancholy weaved into the tune. The end of this longplayer gets closer and it's the acoustic "Reds & Blues" that ends an album that presents well-crafted alternative rock music.

"Stone Temple Pilots" doesn't get close to the iconic debut and the sophomore "Purple" record. However, it's a strong rock album that finds a good balance between rock bursts and soulful moments.





  1. Middle of Nowhere
  2. Guilty
  3. Meadow
  4. Just a Little Lie
  5. Six Eight
  6. Thought She's Be Mine
  7. Roll Me Under
  8. Never Enough
  9. The Art of Letting Go
  10. Finest Hour
  11. Good Shoes
  12. Reds & Blues


Label: Rhino / Warner Music

Genre: Alternative Rock

Release Date EU: March 16th, 2018


New EVANESCENCE album in November

Veröffentlicht am 15. September 2017 von Markus W. in Evanescence, Modern Metal, Modern Rock, Alternative Rock, Alternative Metal, Gothic, Dark Rock, Video, News, Post-Grunge

New EVANESCENCE album in November

Evanescence was one of the most successful rock bands in this current millennium, selling millions of records, gathering rewards in gold and platinum with two Grammys has the absolute highlight. What followed was hiatus for some years with some new life that was blown into the band in 2015. Another two years later fans of Evenescence can welcome the anticipated fourth album, entitled “Synthesis”. Release date will be November 10th and the first single, “Imperfection” is available as of day.


CD review AEGES "Weightless"

Veröffentlicht am 26. Juli 2016 von Markus W. in Ae4ges, News, CD Review, Modern Metal, Modern Rock, Alternative Metal, Alternative Rock, Nu Metal, Post-Grunge

(7/10) Aeges (pronounced as 'ages') are from Los Angeles, CA and the band consists of Kemble Walters, Tony Baumeister, Cory Clarke and Mike Land. The quartet releases these days their new longplayer "Weightless" which follows "The Bridge" from 2012.

A check of their Facebook page provides you with the informationof the quartet describing the genre their music fits to as "nasty riffs". And yes, the songs on "Weightless" are full of riifs, the best ones being included in the title track, being also the opener, and the mighty "Another Wasteland". Having mentioned these two tracks I already told you about the real highlights on "Weightless".

The other eleven tracks on the sophomore record are not too bad, but they are missing the spark that starts the fire. In one or another way the guys build most of the songs on the same principles which makes the variation between the tracks very limited. I was tempted to press the 'skip' button more than ones which isn't a good sign.

On the other hand I have the feeling that there is more potential in the band than what they present on "Weightless". Vocals done by Walters and Clark are pretty good, the riffs are sharp and powerful and the rhythm section is like a smoothly working rock engine. And last but not least the album got a well-done production too. All these things are good prerequisites for an excellent release, if, yes if, the songs would be more exciting.

Therefore it will be seven points going to Aeges for "Weightless" with the hope of making use of the band's full potential next time.





  1. Weightless
  2. Save Us
  3. A Reason Why
  4. Clear
  5. All of Me
  6. Another Wasteland
  7. Echoes
  8. What if
  9. Nothing to Prove
  10. Better
  11. Drown
  12. Listening
  13. Drying Out


Label: Another Cetury

Genre: Alternative Rock

Release Date EU: July 22nd, 2016

CD review AEGES "Weightless"