Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

nuclear assault

CD review VENOMOUS CONCEPT "Kick Me Silly - VC III"

Veröffentlicht am 10. Januar 2016 von Markus W. in Venomous Concept, Hardcore, Grindcore, News, CD Review, Thrash Metal, Punk, Napalm Death, Brutal Truth, Nuclear Assault

(8/10) Venomous Concept is a melting pot fed with hardcore, punk, thrash and grindcore. The result is taped on an album called Kick Me Silly - VCIII". As the title indicated, we are talking about the third disc of this five-piece band. For the once of you who haven't heard of the band before, Venomous Concept is Kevin Sharp and Shane Embury who started the project in 2004. They were joined by Danny Herrera and in the meantime also Nuclear Assault mainman Danny Lilker plus John Cooke are on board.

​Venomous Concept aren't known for releasing as many albums as possible. The debut "Retroactive Abortion" came out in 2004 and it took the band till 2008 to release their second longplayer "Poisoned Apple.

Now, another eight years later the third strike hits the record shops. "Kick me Sill - VCIII" is the title of this album that is 20 songs plus one bonus track called "Rocket Science".

The album is an sonic twister that catches you for around 50 min and spits you out with "Rocket Science". Actually the artificial heartbeat in the end is the first moment to calm down after such an acoustic inferno.

Actually it's two songs scratching at the 3 minutes level. Each of the other tracks take two and half minutes at maximum. The by far shortest track is "Johnny Cheeseburger" which isn't more than intense 11 seconds followed by the catchy hardcore/punk beast "Forever War".

Wild grindcore orgies like "Human Waste" are present on the third longplayer and "Holiday in Switzerland" sound like being taken from an apocalyptic soundtrack. The opener "Rise" instead is a raunchy hardcore/metal hybrid with even a 'melodic' chorus

I like Venomous Concept's new album and I think that fans of bands like Napalm Death and Nuclear Assault will love the songs too. "Kick me Silly - VC III" is raw and comes without any bells and whistles.

Looking on the frequency of releases so far - four years between album number one and two and eight years between album number two and three - I hope that we will get album number four a bit earlier than in sixteen years from now. Venomous Concept, please break the sequence.





  1. Rise
  2. Busy With Your Debt
  3. Anthem
  4. Potters Ground
  5. Human Waste
  6. Leper Dog
  7. Farm Boy
  8. Head on a Stick
  9. Pretend
  10. Johnny Cheeseburger
  11. Forever War
  12. Good Times
  13. Pretty on the Inside
  14. Holiday in Switzerland
  15. Fucked in Czech Republic
  16. Neck Tie
  17. Frontal Lobe Disorder
  18. Day Care
  19. Quazimodo
  20. Burning Fatigue
  21. Rocket Science (Bonus)


Label: Season of Mist

Genre: Grindcore

Release date EU: January 8th, 2016


CD review VENOMOUS CONCEPT "Kick Me Silly - VC III"

CD review NUCLEAR ASSAULT "Pounder" EP

Veröffentlicht am 3. Juli 2015 von Markus W. in Nuclear Assault, Thrash Metal, Hardcore, Heavy Metal, Punkrock, CD Review, News, Anthrax, SOD, Overkill

(7/10) Nuclear Assault is one of the those metal dinosaurs that are an essential part of the metal scene by still being not that very well known. They are the underground.

Dan Lilker and band mates have been around already since 1985. The guys have been one of the flagships of the New York metal scene in the 80's. Together with Anthrax, S.O.D. and Overkill the quartet belonged to the most important representatives of east coast metal. The bands debut from 1986, "Game over", is still a classic when it comes to a mix of hardcore and thrash metal.

A few more records later the band decided to disband in 1994, before they came back again in 2002 for some live shows. Another three years later "Third world genocide" was published and it took Nuclear Assault another ten year to release the new EP "Pounder".

The EP comes with four new songs that represent all the Nuclear Assault trademarks. "Pounder", the title track, is an raging thrash metal track with a merciless pushing rhythm section. It's a fast metal anthem that also could have been on "Game over" too. 

"Lies" takes over. The tune is kept a bit slower and is built on a heavy riff. Again, oldschool thrash that doesn't focus on musical perfection. It's the raw power that Nuclear Assault embedded in the four new tracks.

The more hardcore/punk like "Analog man" is the next station on this energetic journey before the slower "Died in your arms" closes the EP. This song starts slow with some vocal lines that are different from the rest of the album. It almost sounds like being inspirend by Danzig. An interesting track, even though the other three ones are better.

Nuclear Assault is definetely back. This EP is the best I heard from the band since "Game over' and I hope the guys have the chance to record a full-length album pretty soon. So far enjoy this EP. A real 12" 'pounder'.





  1. Pounder
  2. Lies
  3. Analog man
  4. Died in your arms


Label: Graviton

Genre: Thrash Metal

Release date EU: Already released

CD review NUCLEAR ASSAULT "Pounder" EP