Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

new model army

NEW MODEL ARMY documentary and tour dates

Veröffentlicht am 27. Februar 2017 von Markus W. in New Model Army, News, Rock, Indie, Alternative Rock, Live, Tour

New Model Army will release a documentary entitled „The New Model Army Story: Between Dog and Wolf“. Release date of the DVD / Blu-ray will be March 3rd via earMUSIC.

New Model Army will be also on tour in March and here are the dates:

  • 02 March Lille, Le Splendid
  • 03 March Rennes, L'Etage
  • 04 March Vaureal, Le Forum
  • 05 March Lyon, Ninkasi Kao
  • 07 March Lausanne, Les Docks
  • 08 March Pratteln, Z7
  • 09 March Vienna, WUK
  • 10 March Budapest, Barba Negra Music Club
  • 11 March Wörgl, Komma
  • 12 March Regensburg, Mischwerk
  • 14 March Augsburg, Kantine
  • 15 March Ravensburg, Oberschwabenklub
  • 16 March Karlsruhe, Substage
  • 17 March Aschaffenburg, Colos Saal
  • 18 March Dortmund, FZW
  • 19 March Bielefeld, Ringlokschuppen
  • 21 March Rostock, Mau Club
  • 22 March Stockholm, Debaser Strand
  • 23 March Göteborg, Sticky Fingers
  • 24 March Oslo, John Dee
  • 25 March Malmö, Babel
  • 26 March Kiel, Max
  • 28 March Bremen, Aladin
  • 29 March Hengelo, Metropool
  • 30 March Rotterdam, Maassilo
  • 31 March Norwich, The Waterfront
  • 01 April Bilston, The Robin 2
  • 02 April Northampton, Roadmender
  • 04 April Glasgow, The Garage
  • 05 April Newcastle, Riverside
  • 06 April Sheffield, Corporation
  • 07 April Southampton, Engine Rooms
  • 08 April Durbuy Rock Festival (BE)
  • 27 May Bearded Theory Festival (UK)
  • 21 July Mainz, Frankfurter Hof
  • 27 August A New Day Festival (UK)
  • 28 August Castell Roc, Chepstow Castle (UK)
NEW MODEL ARMY documentary and tour dates

CD review NEW MODEL ARMY "Winter"

Veröffentlicht am 27. August 2016 von Markus W. in New Model Army, Hardrock, Punkrock, Folk Rock, News, CD Review, Independent, Alternative Rock, Dark Rock

(8/10) It was end of the eighties when I heard New Model Army for the first time. It was on almost endless rotation every weekend in the local underground club and I can't say how often they played "51st State" and "Vagabonds". Especially the latter was a real smasher that made the people go wild and both songs still belong to the best ones Justin Sullivan ever wrote.

Since that moment in time I'm following the band that release many more records, without having any real disappointment in their discography. New Model Army found their special niche and created a sound that can be identified immediately as being from Sullivan and Co.

The new album is preparing the listener for the coming winter period, even though it feels something that's far away while sitting with 35 degrees Celsius. "Winter" starts with the epic "Beginning", a slow seven minutes long opener that acts like a well-chosen introduction. It's an intensive piece of music that slowly builds up and becomes more and more voluminous along the the way.

The title track is another highlight on the album, starting with the typical New Model Army acoustic guitar and Sullivan's unique phrased vocallines. "Eyes Get Used to the Darkness" instead is a dark anthem that is build on a faster pace before "Drifts" takes over, being a tune with a lot of emotional depth. I think it's the most moving track on the album with almost desperate screams in the chorus. In case you're looking for a more atmospheric moment, "Winter" can offer "Born Feral" which becomes quite sphereful towards the end.

"Winter" is an typical New Model Army album that contains all trademarks the band stands for. Still Sullivan and bandmates create enough dynamic and variations to keep things entertaining and fresh. It's a great album of a band that belongs to the keyplayers in post-punk/folk/dark rock. Thumbs up and it seems to be become a good 'winter'.




  1. Beginning
  2. Burn the Castle
  3. Winter
  4. Part the Waters
  5. Eyes Get Used to the Darkness
  6. Drifts
  7. Born Feral
  8. Die Trying
  9. Devil
  10. Strogoula
  11. Echo November
  12. Weak and Strong
  13. After Something


Label: earMUSIC

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: August 26th, 2016

CD review NEW MODEL ARMY "Winter"

CD review NEW MODEL ARMY "Between wine and blood"

Veröffentlicht am 13. September 2014 von Markus W. in New Model Army, Indie Rock, Rock, Hardrock, Punkrock, CD Review, News

(8/10) I have to admit that I like New Model Army already since decades. Their hits like "51st stae" and "Vagabonds" are highlights in rock and should be known by every rock fan. After having their peak in the end of the 80'/beginning of the 90's New Model Army disappeared a bit. They still released albums which have been also good, but the big success of the before mentioned songs couldn't be repeated anymore.

A few days ago the band of Justin Sullivan released a new album called "Between wine and blood". Actually it's not a real new album. It is more an EP with additional live songs. The reason why we can enjoy this newest release was a bloodclot in the leg of drummer Michael Dean. He got this diagnose in spring this year which led to a cancellation of the second leg of the tour. But the band didn't twiddle one's thumb. The used the time to write and record the new tunes.

In total there are six new songs on the silver disc. All of them are pretty strong numbers which remind me to the earlier days of the band. The opener "According to you" is a melodic indie rocker that has a cool melody. The hypnotic "Angry planet" with its downtuned guitar sound is a real highlight. Hard and still dancable - those are characteristics of the song that belongs for me to the best songs the band wrote.

Teh galopping "Guessing" is dominated by a tight rhythm section and the voice of Sullivan. Than it becomes slow and sphereful. I was reminded to "Green and grey" from "Thunder and consolation" when I heard "Happy to be here" for the first time. It is a well crafted 6 minutes long track which I like, eventhough it doesn't reach the high level of "Green and grey".

"Devil's bargain" is probabaly the weakest of the six new songs, but I can live with this fact. The other tracks are really good ones. That includes the contemplative "Sunrise".

The rest of the songs on "Between wine and blood" are live recordings from the latest tour of New Model Army. The sound of those tunes is really good. The songs come powerful round the corner and eventhough I love their hits like the mentioned ones in the beginning, I must say that I appreciate to not have them as part of the live tracks. It's mainly the tunes from the 2013 release "Betwen dog and wolf" that shines in the spotlight of the live performace. A good choice.

All in all I like this 'extended EP'. Good new songs combined with excellent live recordings leads to a good album from the Bradford based indie rockers.





  1. According to you
  2. Angry planet
  3. Guessing
  4. Happy to be here
  5. Devil's bargain
  6. Sunrise
  7. Strom clouds
  8. March in September
  9. Did you make it safe
  10. I need more time
  11. Pull the sun
  12. Lean back and fall
  13. Seven times
  14. Between dog and wolf
  15. Summer moors
  16. Knievel
  17. Horseman


Label: earMUSIC/Edel

Genre: Indie Rock


CD review NEW MODEL ARMY "Between wine and blood"