Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013


CD review KAMCHATKA "Long road made of gold"

Veröffentlicht am 18. Mai 2015 von Markus W. in Kamchatka, Rock, Hardrock, News, CD Review, Classic Rock

(8/10) The lone riders of Kamchatka saddled their horses and hit the "Long road made of gold". You can join this journey of ten songs though classic metal and hardrock.

The trip continues where the guys stopped with the predecessor. Kamchatka still combines hardrock with bluesy classic rock. Having said this I also have to mention that the 70's influences became a bit bigger on the "Long road made of gold". Something, that makes the longplayer even more interesting.

Without loosing their trademarks Kamchatka played around with some details in their sound. One of those is the banjo start on the opener "Take me back home". An experiment that works very well.

Blues get some attention too. "Long road" and "Rain" are songs that are reflecting this. Tunes you should check as well are the heavy grooving "Made of gold" that brings the seventies to the new century. But also listening to the faster "Human dynamo" is well spend time. 

"Long road made of gold" was recorded in the bands own studio - the 'Kamchatka shelter'. I think the album expresses the 'safe' environment and based on this a relaxed vibe. Russ Russell, known from metal bands like Napalm Death, has done the mix and the mastering. The result is a contemporary sound of the 70's. After having listened to the result I must say: a well done job.

I have to admit that it took me 2-3 rounds on the record player to get into the tunes and the album. You might have to give this album some time to grow. The effort will be rewarded with great songs that put a spell on you.





  1. Take ma back home
  2. Get your game on
  3. Made of gold
  4. Human dynamo
  5. Rain
  6. Who's to blame
  7. Mirror
  8. Slowly drifitng away
  9. Long road
  10. To you


Label: Despotz

Genre: Hardrock

CD review KAMCHATKA "Long road made of gold"

CD review KAMCHATKA " The search goes on"

Veröffentlicht am 7. März 2014 von Markus W. in Kamchatka, Blues Rock, Rock, CD Review

(8/10) Retro is trendy. Bands who jump in the retro and classic rock train get more and more at the moment. If you haven't heard about Kamchatka so far you might say: "Just another one". But this is not correct. In fact "The search goes on" is album number five from the Swedish guys. And they founded the band already in 2005.

On "The search goes on" the band continues with the heavy blues rock we know them for. Ten tunes which are all really good. The album has no fillers and is, based on that, highly entertaining.

The record starts with "Somedays" which comes with a heavy riff and a cool break before the chorus starts. "Coast to coast" reminds me a bit to the early Whitesnake in the 'Trouble' times while "Tango decadence" with its pounding drums in the verse has a touch of Queens Of The Stone Age. A highlight is for sure also the soulful "Broken man". The way how this song is build up is just great. From slow to powerful the songs develops along the way and transports the 'broken man feeling' really strong. When I heard the song I also had to think about Seattle. I wonder why ;o) My personal fave is the pumping "Thanks you for your time". The song grooves like hell and it's the almost hypnotic beat which merciless pushes this song forward. 

Producer Per Wiberg (Candlemass, Spiritual Beggars,...) gave the album an excellent sound. By the way, Per also played the bass parts on the album since the band haven't had a bassplayer when the recorded the album. Also here Per did a real good job. Just listen to the bassline in "Son of the sea".

All in all an gorgeous heavy blues rock album which is perfect entertainment. Thumbs up.





  1. Somedays
  2. Son of the sea
  3. Tango decadence
  4. Coast to coast
  5. Pressure
  6. Cross the distance
  7. Broken man
  8. Dragons
  9. Thank you for your time
  10. The search goes on


Label: Despotz Records

Genre: Blues Rock

CD review KAMCHATKA " The search goes on"

New video from KAMCHATKA

Veröffentlicht am 11. Dezember 2013 von Markus W. in Kamchatka, Rock, Hardrock, News, Video

The Swedish power rock trio Kamchatka released an new video from their coming album "The search goes on". It is their 5th album and the song they released is named "Tango decadence".


Source: Pirate Smile Promotion

Source: Pirate Smile Promotion