Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

hotrod mayhem

My metal year 2014 - Albums and more...

Veröffentlicht am 31. Dezember 2014 von Markus W. in Machine Head, Hotrod Mayhem, Ghost Brigade, Avatarium, Heavy Metal, News, Thrash Metal, Classic Rock

The year 2014 comes closer to an end. Time to look back and reflect on the best records in this crazy year. It was not easy to chosen them since there have been quite some highlights. However I have chosen the ones that impressed me most. And here they are:

  1. Machine Head: Bloodstones & diamonds
  2. Avatarium: All I want (EP)
  3. Hotrod Mayhem: We are at war
  4. Ghost Brigade: IV - One with the storm
  5. While Heaven Wept: Suspended at Aphelion
  6. The Skull: For those which are asleep
  7. Riot V: Unleash the fire
  8. Within Temptation: Hydra
  9. Gamma Ray: Empire of the undead
  10. Triptykon: Melana chasmata
  11. Arch Enemy: War eternal
  12. In Flames: Sirens charm
  13. Septicflesh: Titan
  14. Zodiac: Sonic child
  15. Obituary: Inked in blood


Furthermore there have been quite some concerts that I have joined. The highlights have been the following ones:

  1. Kreator / Arch Enemy / Sodom / Vader - 013, Tilburg
  2. Audrey Horne - Baroeg, Rotterdam
  3. Down - Melkweg, Amsterdam
  4. Gotthard - De Boerderij, Zoetermeer
  5. Amorphis / Avatarium - 013, Tilburg


I hope all of you enjoyed the metallic 2014 too and let's look forward to a rocking 2015. Happy new year.








My metal year 2014 - Albums and more...

CD review HOTROD MAYHEM "We are at war"

Veröffentlicht am 16. Dezember 2014 von Markus W. in Hotrod Mayhem, Thrash Metal, Punk, Hardcore, Undertow, CD Review, News

(8/10) Some of you might heard already about Hotrod Mayhem. The band is excisting since 2008 and there are two well known names being part of Hotrod Mayhem. Joschi Baschin (g/v) and Oliver Riegler (d) from Undertow founded the band together with Michael Gerstlauer (Dryrot) (g). Gerstlauer left the band in the meantime and was replaced by Roger Grüninger. Hotrod Mayhem completed the line-up with MKS (v) and Andreas Hund on bass.

While Undertow focusses more on melancholic doom metal, Hotrod Mayhem plays an exciting mix that combines thrash metal, punk and hardcore to a brutal groove machine. It sounds like a mix of Pantera, Crowbar and bands like Soulfly. The music sticks directly. Each of the ten songs hits the target, meaning listener, immediately. 

Five of the ten tracks have been released already earlier on the demo of the band from Heidenheim, Gemany. The highlight is for sure the mighty groover "Slaves". The song can make you addictive. It is the enormous power which makes it special. But also the screaming guitars on "Contamination overdose" are a Christmas present for each metal fan.

The new tunes are all on the same high level as the older tunes. The opener "We are at war" is a fast song that sets the tone of voice. Already the scream "We are at war" in the beginning is a cool start into the album and a clear statement too. "Reaktored" instead is reducing pace a bit. It's build on a slow and mean riff that reminded my to Crowbar. Once started to listen to the song there is no escape anymore. Your locked in this 5 minutes metal machine.

The passion for punk shines through in the closer of the album. "Where do you go" is a two minutes bouncer that is simple and to the point. The punk attitude represented by this track fits the band very well.

"We are at war" was recorded in the Studio 141 in Schwäbisch Hall and got a heavy and brutal sound. So all done right here.

The lyrics are also well thought through. Critical and accusingly Hotrod Mayem wrote about relevant current social and political topics. Three of the songs for example take care about the usage and risks of nuclear power plants. 

This album is awesome and Hotrod Mayhem has the potential of becoming at least as big as Undertow. Well done guys. I hope that the album will get a broader recognition. Check it out. For me one of the top 3 debut records in 2014.





  1. We are at war
  2. Planet hate
  3. Meltdown
  4. Slaves 
  5. Reaktored
  6. Nuisance
  7. Contermination overdose 
  8. Black rain 
  9. Catch me if you can 
  10. Where do you go 



Genre: Groove Metal

CD review HOTROD MAYHEM "We are at war"


Veröffentlicht am 14. August 2013 von Markus W. in Hotrod Mayhem, CD Review, Thrash Metal, Hardcore

This EP is not new. It was released in 2011, but it hardly haven't got any attention. I got this record a few weeks ago and I have to say that I was impressed. Hotrod Mayhem is actually a side project of Michael from Dryrot and Joschi from Undertow. The 5 songs are all pretty heavy and are thrash and hardcore influenced.

The opener "Slaves" is the best song. The zrack has a great groove combined with heavyness and a great chrous. Listened once, never forgotten. You just can't stand still by listening to that song. The other 4 songs are great as well even though they can't keep the level of the opener. But they are also above average.

i just wonder what happened to the band and if we can expect more. Would be great.




Contamination overdose

Black rain

Catch me if you can

Where do you go

Label: Own pruduction

Genre: Thrash / Hardcore


Markus Walcz (v)

Michael Gerstlauer (g)

Joachim Baschin (g)

Andreas Hund (b)

Oliver Rieger (d)