Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013


CD review HAMMERCULT "Legends Never Die"

Veröffentlicht am 10. Juni 2016 von Markus W. in Hammercult, Heavy Metal, Thrash Metal, Speed Metal, News, CD Review

(4/10) "Legends Never Die", even though I must say that Hammercult tries hard. I think it's great to pay homage to bands and songs you like and it goes without saying that the choice of metal classics on this album is very well done.

Accept, Motörhead and so more, all great band with excellent songs. What doesn't work well is the way Hammercult interprets these icons of metal. The guys gave me a hard time to listen to each of the eight tracks on this EP. Some might love this disc since it could feel like true underground and Slayer's "Evil Has No Boundaries" actually works OK, but cover versions like the one done for "Ace of Spades" and Accept's "Fast As a Shark" is everything but not thrilling. These interpretations are close to killing a legend.

I think it would have been better to focus on own songs only. These are the ones that are actually OK, but each of them was released already earlier.

After having published three longplayers I guess it's the purpose of this EP to bridge the waiting time. Basically there is nothing wrong with it, but I guess that four new songs and a well done cover version would have added more value than what you get on "Legends Never Die".





  1. Fast As A Shark
  2. Ace Of Spades
  3. Soldiers Of Hell
  4. No Rules
  5. Evil Has No Boundaries
  6. Rise Of The Hammer
  7. Steelcrusher
  8. Let The Angels Burn

Label: SPV/Steamhammer

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: June 17th, 2016

CD review HAMMERCULT "Legends Never Die"

CD review HAMMERCULT "Steelcrusher"

Veröffentlicht am 18. Januar 2014 von Markus W. in Hammercult, Thrash Metal, News, CD Review

(6/10) There are albums were you don't really know what to do with it. "Steelcrusher" from Hammercult is one of those. Founded in 2010 by Yakir Shochat and after winning the Metal Battle in Wacken Hammercult comes with their new second album called "Steelcrusher". 

Shochat himself describes the sound of the band as a "mixture of the old Running Wild and Kreator on steriods". I don't really know why he has chosen this comparison since I can't hear the old Running Wild in the songs and just some Kreator elements. For me it's more a mix between Kreator and Children Of Bodom. But Hammercult never reaches the quality of those two bands. 

"Steelcrusher" contains 11 thrash metal songs and one intro. From the musical point of view the album is quite OK. Fast songs with heavy riffs, good leads and soli. What annoyed me after a while was the voice of Shochat. His hoarse way of singing is quite monotonous, considering a running time of 44 minutes. Some chorus parts like in "Buring the road" are a relief and lead to some variety. The same goes for the crowls which are placed here and there. The second point is that the songs are all fast thrashers and they all sound very similar. This doesn't increase the curiosity for the next song. And all this is the big difference between Hammercult and the earlier mentioned Kreator and Children Of Bodom. 

I think, that Hammercult could have produced a good EP, but for a full-length album it's too much of the same. After three songs you get the impression that you've heard it all. There is light and shadow in this record.





  1. Hymn to the steel (intro)
  2. Steelcrusher
  3. Metal rules tonight
  4. Into hell
  5. We are the people
  6. Burning the road
  7. Ironbound
  8. Unholy art
  9. Satanic lust
  10. Liar
  11. Damnation arise
  12. Heading for war


Label: Steamhammer/SPV

Genre: Thrash Metal

CD review HAMMERCULT "Steelcrusher"