Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

grave pleasure

CD review GRAVE PLEASURE "Motherblood"

Veröffentlicht am 26. September 2017 von Markus W. in Grave Pleasure, Dark Metal, Dark Rock, Post Punk, Punkrock, News, Century Media, Gothic

CD review GRAVE PLEASURE "Motherblood"

(8/10) Finnish rock outfit Grave Pleasure delivers their soundtrack for the dark season like autumn and winter right in time. The third album of the band this Helsinki-based band is an important one, having an impact on the future direction of this rock outfit. Fortunately things look pretty good since “Motherblood” became a big one.

Basically Grave Pleasure continues their journey through dark rock that’s rooted in punk rock. The best references for Grave Pleasure’s sound are Joy Division, Killing Joke and partly The Cure. The quintet doesn’t interpret ‘dark’ and ‘gloomy’ as something that needs to be slo-mo. The tracks on this album are of a higher pace, including a post-punk approach. The darkness comes more from well-done undertones that are weaved into each of the tracks and it’s the lyrics too that are a kind of danse macabre. The guys dig into the deepest fears of mankind. Demise and the apocalypse are main sources, acting as inspiration for lyrics like in “Laughing Abyss”. Even a certain Fields Of The Nephilim vibe is included in songs like “Atomic Christ”.

What comes with each of the songs is a great melody. It’s hard to get fascinated by these tunes since the hooks do their job in a perfect manner. In that sense the album has almost a pop appeal. But I don’t want to be misunderstood, none of the ten songs is even close to pop music. It’s more that the songs are, based on their melodies, danceable ones that would work perfectly for an alternative club night.

The predecessor was already a good album and “Motherblood” prolongs this positive expression. Grave Pleasure can look forward to a bright future in darkness.





  1. Infatuation Overkill
  2. Doomsday Rainbows
  3. Be My Hiroshima
  4. Joy through Death
  5. Mind Intruder
  6. Laughing Abyss
  7. Falling For an Atom Bomb
  8. Atomic Christ
  9. Deadenders
  10. Haunted Afterline


Label: Century Media

Genre: Post-Punk

Release Date EU: September 29th, 2017


CD review GRAVE PLEASURE "Dreamcrash"

Veröffentlicht am 1. September 2015 von Markus W. in Grave Pleasure, Dark Metal, Rock, Alternative Rock, Punkrock, News, CD Review, Hardrock

(8/10) This is cool shit. Grave Pleasure. I don't know if there is already a name for their style. But who cares if the result sounds that 'wow'.

But let's start from the beginning. You might not have heard about the guys before. So did I.

Grave Pleasure started in 2010 with soem members of Beastmilk. The guys come from Finland and they see their music as apocalyptic death rock. OK, this describes it very well; even though the death part is maybe a bit underrepresented.

"Utopian scream" opens this musical Kinder egg. It's a very rhythm based song with a dominant beat. The tune contains some Danzig references combined with some rock elements. Excellent combination, brilliant result.

"New hip moon" follows and sounds more swinging than the opener. The melodies are well-crafted and a dark The Cure adds a chilling fog feeling - all embedded in some rocking guitars.

The Fields Of Nephilim could have been the creative source for "Crying wolves" while "Taste the void" is a straight rocker that comes without any decoration. Spot on.

A gloomy bass introduces "Crooked vein". It's by far the longest and the slowest song on "Dreamcrash". But it's also the most sphereful one that transports a goosebumps feeling.

In the end it's all this together that makes the longplayer to one of the real highlights in 2015. It's this subtile darkness and that underlaying gothic vibe which gives the songs an own identity which jumps between melancholy and anger. Really good.





  1. Utopian scream
  2. New hip moon
  3. Crying wolves
  4. Futureshock
  5. Crisis
  6. Wirn threds
  7. Taste the void
  8. Lipstick on your tombstone
  9. Girl in a voretx
  10. Crooked vein
  11. No survival


Label: Sony Music

Genre: Dark Rock

Release date EU: September 4th, 2015

CD review GRAVE PLEASURE "Dreamcrash"