Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

glenn hughes

CD review GLENN HUGHES "Resonate"

Veröffentlicht am 2. November 2016 von Markus W. in Glenn Hughes, Deep Purple, News, CD Review, Blues, Rock, Hardrock, Classic Rock, Sleaze Rock, Soul

(9/10) Glenn Hughes is belonging to a group of musicians that can be looked at as being dinosaurs of rock music. It was in 1970 when the singer and bassplayer appeared on the scene and since then he was involved in so many bands and projects that it's hard to note them all down in this review. With Deep Purple, Gary Moore and the Black Country Communion I just mention a few in this post.

Next to all the involvement in these bands, Hughes always released solo albums too and after the latest band projects he decided to give some more attention to his own material again. The first result out of this focussed work is named "Resonate" which is the new longplayer of the English mastermind.

Hughes gathered a few other guys around him. Next to himself it's Pontus Enborg (d), Lachy Doley (key) and Soren Andersen (g) that joined his band. And there is another long-term friend supporting "Resonate". Red Hot Chilli Peppers drummer Chad Smith can be listened to on two tracks, the opener and the closing number.

Hughes stands for quality, no doubt. But what I got to hear on "Resonate" was more than what I expected. This stuff is hard and heavy, rocking and grooving, gentle and wild - all spread out over eleven songs that are a pure treat for your ears. I wouldn't go that far saying that this longplayer contains the best songs Hughes ever wrote, but it definitely belongs to the best records I've heard from him.

The opener "Heavy" is more than just a beginning. This song is a statement which makes very clear that this album is supposed to blow you away. "My Town" underlines this declaration with a cool bassline and also "Flow" doesn't leave a single doubt of Hughes being back with full force.

"God of Money" is another cool track, coming with an irresistible groove while "When I Fall" shows that Hughes still has a lot of blues running through in his veins. And not to forget "Landmines" with an almost funky blues expression.

I can recommend this album very much and I think it should be a part of every seriously meant rock collection. This album has the potential to end up in the top 10 list for 2016.





  1. Heavy
  2. My Town
  3. Flow
  4. Let It Shine
  5. Steady
  6. Good of Money
  7. How Long
  8. When I Fall
  9. Landmines
  10. Stumble and Go
  11. Long Time Gone


Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Hardrock

Release Date EU: October 11th, 2016

CD review GLENN HUGHES "Resonate"

CD review VOODOO HILL "Waterfall"

Veröffentlicht am 13. Oktober 2015 von Markus W. in Voodoo Hill, Glenn Hughes, Dario Mollo, Hardrock, Melodic Metal, Heavy Rock, Classic Rock, News, CD Review

(8/10) And again it's Frontiers Music that brings together some genre icons to work on a new album. Voodoo Hill is the name of the cooperation out of guitarist Dario Mollo and singer legend Glenn Hughes. Having those two guys working together rose my expectations when it comes to "Waterfall"; the new album of Voodoo Hill.

So, CD into the play, pressing 'start' and looking forward to an exciting journey; that was the plan. But the first two tracks didn't knock off my socks. The opener "All That Remains" is a more complex track that isn't easy to access, even though it has a cool groove. "The Well" instead felt for me like the guys stayed in second gear by having five gears available. It's Glenn Hughes voice that safes the song from being too trivial. After such a beginning the question vame to my mind if I have had too high expectations.

No, I haven't. Fortunatly from track three on "Waterfall" becomes really exciting. "Rattle Shake Bone" is build on a really cool riff that shakes your bones. No comparison to the opening double.

The slow grooving "Underneath and Down Below" is next, a song that's located somewhere between the 80's Rainbow and Deep Purple. Also "Waterfall" has this classic rock expression that goes partly back to the 70's, by adding a modern touch to it.

Again, you have to go though the hard times in the beginning of this album in order to enjoy the rest. Numbers such as "Evil Thing" and the bluesy "White Feather" compensate for this and make "Waterfall" to a superb heavy rock album that lives up to the earlier mentioned high expectations.





  1. All That Remains
  2. The well
  3. Rattle Shake Bone
  4. Underneath and Down Below
  5. Waterfall
  6. Karma go
  7. Evil Thing
  8. Eldorado
  9. White Feather
  10. Sunflower
  11. Last Door


Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Hardrock

Release Date EU: October 16th, 2015

CD review VOODOO HILL "Waterfall"

CD review CALIFORNIA BRRED "California Breed"

Veröffentlicht am 6. Mai 2014 von Markus W. in Glenn Hughes, Hardrock, Blues, California Breed, CD Review, News, Rock

(8/10) After the Black Country Communion found their end a while ago Glenn Hughes had look for a new challenges. Together with BCC drummer Jason Bonham the bass and volcalist legend started California Breed. So, what was need in addition? True, a guitarist. And they found with Andrew Watt a young talent who took the responsibility for the riffs on the album. The trio started immediately to work on songs and the result are 12 cool rockers which found their way on the album. 

So what kind of music do the guys play on "California Breed"? For me it's pure rock music, which has influences from classic rock bands and grunge as well. Not a big surprise considering the history of Hughes and Bohnam, but also the grunge passion from Watt. What makes the album really special is the fact that it has really a live vibe. It sounds like they would have recorded it live in studio. 

The production was done by Dave Cobb who also produced already Rival Sons. He gave the record a cool sound which is on the one hand very warm and organic, but on the other hand heavy and modern. Well done in my point of view.

Songs like "Chemical rain", one of the first ones the band wrote, have a clear Soundgarden parallel. I actually wasn't aware that Hughes and Cornell can scream so similar. I like the tune since it's actually a slower one with really heavy eruptions in the chorus. A bit like "Black hole sun". The first single is called "Sweet tea". This is a 100% rocker. Very rhyhtm based it smells like whiskey, smoke and bar. I could imagine that AC/DC fans will love this song, esp. in the verse. "Midnight oil" is another cool track on the album. It follows a bit of the Stones feeling and the highlight of the tune is for sure the great female backing vocals (who did those?). This makes the "Midnight oil" very special. Also California Breed come with a slower track on the album. The emotional ballad "All falls down" beautify the middle part of "California Breed". The trio put a lot of feelings and blues into this song. I could continue this way, but instead of reading you should listen to the disc.

But I also have to admit, that I had a hard time, when I heard the album for the first time. It wasn't an 'easy-going' album for me from the beginnig. However, I gave it more rounds in the player and it was growing and growing. This album is great music and you should give it a chance. Glenn Hughes at its best.





  1. The way
  2. Sweet tea
  3. Chemical rain
  4. Midnight oil
  5. All falls down
  6. The grey
  7. Days they come
  8. Spit you out
  9. Strong
  10. Invisible
  11. Scars
  12. Breath


Label: Frontiers Records

Genre: Hardrock



CD review CALIFORNIA BRRED "California Breed"