Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

escape the fate

CD review ESCAPE THE FATE "I am Human"

Veröffentlicht am 27. März 2018 von Markus W. in Escape The Fate, News, Modern Metal, Alternative Metal, Metalcore, CD Review, Eleven Seven Music, Post-Hardcore

CD review ESCAPE THE FATE "I am Human"

(6/10) "I am Human" is Escape The Fate's 6th longplayer. The album will be released on March 30st which means that fans had to wait a bit longer since the release day was moved by a few weeks. However, here it is.

"I am Human" is slightly different. "Empire", unveiled as a video a while ago, gave already a first indication of what to expect. The band from Pahrump, Nevada always added a solid portion of melody to their postcore/metalcore songs, but this time the go one step further. Elements of pop music found their way into most of the songs on "I am Human", with synthesisers that are close to the edge of becoming cheesy. "Broken Heart" is such a song that has the bigger masses in focus and "Resistance" is more of a friendly 'No' rather than real 'resistance'.

Last but not least there is an acoustic ballad on the tracklist. "If Only" is the title of the distracting track that immediately brings up the question of why this song ends up on an album of a former post-hardcore band. 

Some better moment, even though still being far away from post-hardcore, are the heavy "Digging My Own Grave" and harder "Recipe For Disaster". "Riot" is not too bad either and reflects the sleaze influences in a dominant way. 

With having all this in mind I can't give more than points to an album that includes songs that are a bit too much mainstream-based. I can't get rid of a thinking that commercial success was steering too much and that's why the band played safe with "I am Human".





  1. Beautifully Tragic
  2. Broken Heart
  3. Four Letter Word
  4. I Will Make It Up to You
  5. Bleed for Me
  6. Do You Love Me?
  7. I Am Human
  8. If Only
  9. Empire
  10. Recipe for Disaster
  11. Riot
  12. Digging My Own Grave
  13. Resistance
  14. Let Me Be


Label: Eleven Seven Music

Genre: Melodic Metalcore

Release Date EU: March 30st, 2018