Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013


CD review SINSAENUM "Ashes"

Veröffentlicht am 31. Oktober 2017 von Markus W. in Sinsaenum, Joey Jordison, Frederic Leclercq, Black Metal, Death Metal, News, ear Music, Ashes, EP, CD Review

CD review SINSAENUM "Ashes"

(8/10) Time is flying. It’s already more than a year ago when death metal supergroup Sinsaenum released the highly anticipated debut “Echoes of the Tortured”. In order to keep the hellish fire burning the guys put more wood on the fire with a new EP that will hit the shelves on November 10th. And what name would fit better for such a disc than “Ashes”.

This EP is a metal purgatory. The quintet recorded three new songs for this release, each of them coming with an angry, dark and merciless vibe. The new tracks stand for a shifting level of aggressiveness adding more sonic brutality to Sinsaenum's sound. 

It’s the title track the kick-off this journey into the abyss. A furious riff in combination with bloodcurdling growls set the tone of voice for the next 26 minutes. The title track belongs to the faster songs. However, it comes with some well-done breaks too, reflecting the musical experience of everybody involved. Sinsaenum aren’t nobodies. Frederic Leclercq, Sean Z., Attila Csihar, Stephane Buriez, Heimoth and Joey Jordison have a long track records in metal, being or having been involved in bands like Slipknot, Mayhem and Dragonforce. Combining this metallic fire power in one band allowed the guys to create songs that reflect their passion for harsh metal, but also to take things from a wider perspective.

“Ashes” is a continuation of what started with the self-titled EP more than a year ago. However, the quintet evolved their music with some more black metal getting to the forefront. Especially “2099 (Heretics)” reflects this a lot. What’s obvious with this tune is the musical filigree craftsmanship that’s, next to the wildness, another substantial element of this five-piece band.

Besides the three new songs this EP comprises three more songs. “Degeneration” and “King of the Desperate Lands” are two Japanese bonus tracks while the closer “Dead Souls” got a remix done by Frederic Dusquesne.

“Ashes” shows that Sinsaenum isn’t a 'one hit wonder'. These guys are not just a  project for one album, they are a band and more exciting music can be expected from this powerful metal outfit.





  1. Ashes
  2. Monarch of Death
  3. 2009 (Heretics)
  4. Degeneration
  5. King of the Desperate Lands
  6. Dead Souls


Label: earMusic

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: November 11th, 2017


CD review MASTODON "Cold Dark Place" EP

Veröffentlicht am 17. September 2017 von Markus W. in Mastodon, News, Alternative Metal, Alternative Rock, Sludge, Prog Metal, EP, CD Review

CD review MASTODON "Cold Dark Place" EP

(8/10) After having released the highly successful “Emperor of Sand” album some month ago, Atlanta-based powerhouse Mastodon returns with a new EP, providing four more songs which weren’t released earlier. The tunes are the result of work done in sessions for the 2014 release “Once More Round the Sun” as well as for the latest longplayer.

The EP begins with two tracks which have their roots in 2014. “North Side Star” is the opener and represents the atmospheric and calmer side of this heavy rocking quartet. The song is very soulful and the same goes for the following “Blue Walsh”. Mastodon doesn’t put the heavy guitar riffs into the forefront. Instead they focus on a gentle soundscape that includes an emotional depth, creating the intensity needed.

Also "Toe to Toes” starts more silent before a rocking guitar takes over after a few chords played. The song is heavier than the first two ones without really ending up in a metallic blast. However, it’s a terrific anthem that also would have deserved a spot on the original album tracklist.

With “Cold Dark Place”, the title track, we get already to the end of this EP that shows again the width and musical craftsmanship of this four-piece band. An acoustic guitar is dominating the song. Five minutes in length provide you with an almost fragile song that proves the fact that ‘silent’ doesn’t mean ‘boring’ or ‘cliché’.

What else to say. The artwork is done by Richey Beckett and the EP comes prior to some European tour dates. By the way, it’s Scott Kelly, known from Neurosis, who will be part of this tour which creates some extra curiosity and excitement.





  1. North Side Star
  2. Blue Walsh
  3. Toe to Toes
  4. Cold Dark Place


Label: Reprise Records

Genre: Alternative Metal

Release Date EU: September 22nd, 2017


GRAVE will release a new EP end of the year

Veröffentlicht am 16. Juni 2013 von mwie in EP, Grave, Death Metal, Sweden

Swedish death metal band Grave is working on a new 4 track EP. The title will be "Morbid ascent" and the EP will be released end of 2013.


1. Venial sin

2. Morbid ascent

3. Possessed (Satyricon cover)

4. Epos ("Rise from the tomb" edit version)

GRAVE will release a new EP end of the year