Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013


CD review CRIPPER "Follow Me: Kill!"

Veröffentlicht am 13. September 2017 von Markus W. in Cripper, Death Metal, Thrash Metal, Metal Blade, News, CD Review

CD review CRIPPER "Follow Me: Kill!"

(8/10) Here comes an album that should be interested for everyone that thinks that the newest Arch Enemy album is too melodic and too much mainstream. German thrashers Cripper worked on a new longplayer entitled “Follow Me: Kill!” which will be released on September 15th.

The new record is already number five in the band’s history, a journey that began in 2005. Being rooted in thrash metal, Cripper released brutal albums, premiering with “Freak Inside” in 2007. Over time Cripper shifted their sound more towards death metal by still keeping their thrash foundation.

The new album comes with ten songs of which none is a compromise. Each of these tracks showcases a band that’s hungry and on fire. A heavily hammering rhythm section acts as a working horse for this outfit, creating a foundation on which evil riffs and raspy growls can shine.

The vocals are a key characteristic of Cripper’s sound. Being part of the band from the beginning it’s Britta Gortz who scream one’s mind to the heavens. With abandon and aggressive power it’s her voice that became to a trademark of the band’s sound. And even though her shouts are a main ingredient she also show her clean singing skills during “Running High” with eight minutes in length the longest tune on the album. I think that this songs plays an important role on the album since it breaks the right into the face approach, at least partly. Cripper has a foot on the break with calmer guitars kicking of this track. It’s a well-placed counterpart to thrashers like “Shoot or Get Shot” and “Pressure” which acts as a good opener.

Five records are the numerable outcome of Cripper’s work to date with the newest longplayer being one that continues the band’s movement towards thrash-death.





  1. Pressure
  2. Into the Fire
  3. World Coming Down
  4. Mother
  5. Shoot or Get Shot
  6. Bleeding Red
  7. Comatose
  8. Pretty Young Thing
  9. Running High
  10. Menetekel


Label: Metal Blade

Genre: Death/Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: September 15th, 2017


CD review CRIPPER "Hyena"

Veröffentlicht am 27. November 2014 von Markus W. in Cripper, Thra, Heavy Metal, Death Metal, CD Review, News

(7/10) Cripper means female fronted thrash metal from Germany. The five-piece from Hannover has released already 3 full-length records and has spend some time in the studio during the last months. The result is a new album; full of thrash metal anthems.

The new longplayer is called "Hyena" comes with eleven tracks. The benefit with the songs on "Hyena" is the unbounded power that is based on mighty riffs. Combined with the deep thrash vocals from Britta Goertz the music of Cripper sounds quite strong.

It's the title track that slowly introduces you into this record. After a kind of intro part the track develops into a powerful thrasher. "Tourniquet" takes over and speed increases. Short and to the point the song doesn't take any prisoners. "Bloodshot monkey eye" is than almost the opposite. Speed is replaced by a mighty groove and for me it is one if the best songs on the longplayer. What a headbanging riff!

"7"" is another cool track in which Goertz shouts out the vocals as if there would be no tomorrow. The spoken word samples fit also perfectly into the song structure and are the cherry on the cake. Time for some faster music again. No problem. "Patronized" is such track. Starting and ending with high pace the tune has a tempo change in the middle, that opens up the track.

The only thing that is a bit a point of critic is that the tension is a bit lost after a while. Still, the riffing is great but the songs could show a bit more diversity. Cripper repeats their success pattern maybe a bit too often and one or two more unexpected moments/songs would have been nice. However, the quality of the songs compensate for this little deficit.

"Hyena" is a good thrash metal album and real headbanger stuff. 





  1. Hyena
  2. Tourniquet
  3. Bloodshot monkey eye
  4. A dime for the establishment
  5. 7"
  6. Animated flesh
  7. The origin
  8. Patterns in the shy
  9. The jackhammer
  10. Patronized
  11. Pure


Label: Metal Blades

Genre: Thrash Metal

CD review CRIPPER "Hyena"

News from the coming album from CRIPPER

Veröffentlicht am 31. Juli 2014 von Markus W. in Cripper, Thrash Metal, Death Metal, News

German female fronted thrash metal band Cripper is working in the studio on a new album called "Hyena". See here a statement of the band from the studio:

"Fellas, a big step in the progress of producing "Hyena" is done. We are happy to announce that all recordings are finished and we are entering the mixing phase now. It's still 4 months from now until release, but to give you some sneak peeks, here's another podcast for you. Besides the audio recordings, we also filmed our whole set at Metaldays festival in Tolmin/Slovenia. Strangely enough, it was the first time ever that we played in the rain, even though the overall festival weather was brutally hot and sunny! The audience didn't mind, neither did we. Crowdsurfers, circle pits, wall of death and a rowing pit made all our worries disappear - thanks to everyone getting soaked with us! We had a massively positive feedback at our signing session, where the line of people wouldn't stop for a whole hour. Crazy shit!"


Photo: Metal Blade (Promo)

Photo: Metal Blade (Promo)