Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013


CD review CASABLANCA "Miskatonic Graffiti"

Veröffentlicht am 2. Oktober 2015 von Markus W. in Casablanca, Hardrock, Rock, News, CD Review, Classic Rock, Roc

(8/10) That Casablanca is more than just the Moroccan capitol is something you might know as being a metal fan. The guys from Sweden have released already some quite good classic rock records and the next one stands in line in order to be released.

"Miskatonic Graffiti" is the cryptic name of this record that contains 10 songs. This time Casablanca decided to release a concept album that is all based on the Chuthulu mythology.

Casablanca starts very brave into their new album. An opener with ten minutes length isn't something you meet daily. It takes courage to take such a step. But Casablanca did it very well. "Enter The Mountains" is an outstanding hardrocker with an excellent melody. Furthermore the tune has enough twists to keep the level of excitement up high. This epical introduction is great piece of music that takes you into the another world and is a perfect start.

Part two of the story begins with the galloping "Closer"; a song that doesn't need any warm-up. The melody just catches you from the first note.

"This Tomorrow" falls back into a moderate pace, combining classic rock with some bluesy parts. It comes with a cool guitar sound that interacts with a cool hammond organ.

The slower "My Shadow Out of Time" can easily keep the high level and also listening to the swinging rocker "RE: Old Money" is pure fun.

If you have a need for some faster stuff you can move to "Name Rank Serial Killer" which is thrilling. The title track instead is a melodic rocker that sounds good. I miss a bit the edges here and it became a bit too much mainstream for my taste.

"She Was the One" shows the impact of Led Zeppelin before the eight minutes long third chapter "Exit the Mountain" closes the book/album.

"Riding a Black Swan" was already a good release and with "Miskatonic Graffiti" the band from Stockholm, Sweden made a next step in their development. The new longplayer contains a lot of great melodies and catchy tunes while never getting cheesy. Good stuff for your ears.





  1. Enter The Mountains
  2. Closer
  3. This is tomorrow
  4. My Shadow Out of Time
  5. RE: Old Money
  6. Sister
  7. Name Rank Serial Killer
  8. Miskatonic Graffiti
  9. She was the one
  10. Exit The Mountain


Label: Despotz Records

Genre: Hardrock

Release Date EU: September 25th, 2015

CD review CASABLANCA "Miskatonic Graffiti"

CD review CASABLANCA "Riding a black swan"

Veröffentlicht am 13. Januar 2014 von Markus W. in Casablanca, CD Review, News, Hardrock, Rock

(7/10) Time for another classic rock album? Indeed. Have you heard already earlier from Casablanca? Not the city - Casablanca is the name of a Swedish classic rock band. They released their debut “Apocalyptic youth” in 2012. The album was pretty successful and well received. It gave the band the opportunity to open for example for Kiss, when they played their show in Malmö, Sweden.

Casablanca also used the time till now for working on their second album. The name of the disc is “Riding a black swan” and it continues seamless from where they ended with “Apocalyptic youth”. Ten hard rock songs with some classic rock touch will give you a good time, since the songs transport a good vibe. Casablanca goes into the same direction as bands like Imperial State Electric. The difference though is that Casablanca are bit more mainstream and less ‘crazy’ as ISE.

The album starts with chiming bells and a surprisingly heavy riff. “The giant dreamless sleep”, the name of the opener, is a good start and gives you an idea about what to expect from the album. “Hail to liberation” is the first single release of the album and is a very catchy song. No wonder that it was played by Swedish radio stations quite often. The hookline does its job. “Barriers” is one of the faster tracks on the album. Also this song has a melody, esp. in the chorus, which just sticks in your mind. The title track is a straight rocker with a cool and almost chilling middle part. Another crispy rocker is called “Just for one nite” which is the last song on the record. It combines a cool bassline with ample harmonies with the spirit and the energy of the youth.

To conclude: “Riding a black swan” became a good record which will be appreciated by fans from bands like Kiss, Alice Cooper and Mötley Crüe. If Casablanca continues with songs like on this album we will hear even more of them in the future. Give it a try.





  1. The giant dreamless sleep
  2. Hail to liberation
  3. Dead end street revisited
  4. It’s alright
  5. Barriers
  6. Riding a black swan
  7. Some misty morning
  8. Heartbreak city
  9. No devil in me
  10. Just for the nite


Label: Gain Music

Genre: Hardrock

CD review CASABLANCA "Riding a black swan"