Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013


CD review POWERFLO "Powerflo"

Veröffentlicht am 2. Juli 2017 von Markus W. in Powerflo, downset, Cypress Hill, Fear Factory, Worst, Biohazard, Crossover, News, Alternative Metal, Nu Metal, Hardcore, Modern Metal, Dino Alone Records

CD review POWERFLO "Powerflo"

(8/10) It feels like Crossover’s gaining more and more of a momentum again. There are the Prophets Of Rage being on a successful tour through Europe right now and there’s a new player in the starting blocks too – Powerflo. Having a deeper look behind this name unveils well-known musicians. Cypress Hill’s Sen Dog as part of the ‘Flo’ as well as downset guitarist Rogelio Lozano and Billy Graziadei from Biohazard, Fear Factory bassist Christian Olde Wolbers and Worst drummer Fernando Schaefer. The musical background of the involved also describes very much the sound of this debut. The quintet celebrates a crossover style that brings together some metal with hip-hop, punk and rock.

Powerflo took a very inclusive approach rather than an exclusive one. Everything started with a jam session, leading to a vibe that was kept throughout the entire album. Powerflo’s songs don’t feel forced or planned. Powerflo’s album grew more organically which also means that, even though ‘Crossover’ is the overarching style, the disc comes with wider variation of styles combined.

“My MO” is the grooving starting point into this longplayer, a song that shows the whole beauty of crossover. Hip-hop meets metallic riffs in an excellent way. “Resistance” adds another level of aggressiveness to Powerflo's sounds before melody and heavy riffs dominate “Where I Stay”.

One of the best songs on the album is the punky “Less Than Human” that also, in parts, reminds of downset. After such a blast the moderate “The Grind” shows the entire spectrum of styles on “Powerflo”, followed by a Biohazard-inspired smasher called “Victim of Circumstance”.

Let’s take this album for what it is: a cool longplayer with well-crafted crossover songs that catches attention. If you like the “Judgment Night” soundtrack or if you call one of the earlier mentioned bands your favorite than you should also get into the ‘powerflo’.





  1. My MO
  2. Resistance
  3. Where I Stay
  4. Crushing That
  5. Less Than Human
  6. The Grind
  7. Victim of Circumstances
  8. Made it This Way
  9. Finish the Game
  10. Up and Out of Me
  11. Start a War


Label: Dino Alone Records

Genre: Crossover

Release Date EU: July 7th, 2017


POWERFLO - with Cyprsess Hill, Biohazard,... members, announces debut

Veröffentlicht am 6. Juni 2017 von Markus W. in Powerflo, Cypress Hill, downset, Biohazard, Crossover, Hardcore, Heavy Metal, Rap, News, Video, Fear Factory, Worst

POWERFLO - with Cyprsess Hill, Biohazard,... members, announces debut

It looks like the old “Judgement Night” days are coming back, or at least a metal/rap crossover. Prophets Of Rage are touring right now through Europe, playing some big festivals after having had a very successful North America tour earlier.

Now it’s another player that enter the scene – Powerflo. This quintet are Sen Dog (Cypress Hill), Rogelio Lozano (downset), Billy Garziadei (Biohazard). Christian Olde Wolbers (Fear Factory and last but not least Fernando Schaeffer (Worst). These five guys put the last dot on the ‘I’ when it comes to their debut album “Powerfol” which will be released on June 23rd, 2017 via Dine Alone Records.

Here comes a first teaser which sounds excellent. Enjoy and stay tuned for more.


CD review HARDSIDE "The madness"

Veröffentlicht am 29. Juli 2015 von Markus W. in Hardside, Hardcore, Thrash Metal, News, CD Review, Pantera, Biohazard

(8/10) Hardside are from San Antonio, Texas and the five-piece is a metal/hardcore hybrid that really kicks-ass. Zane, Patrick, Ely, Ravy Bear and Sammy are influenced by hardcore legends such as Biohazard while also thrash bands like Pantera made in impact on Hardside's sound.

I haven't heard about the band earlier - a mistake. What I got to hear when I listened to "The madness" the first time was more than impressive. It's the described mixture of heavy sounds that makes the longplayer to an extremely energetic one. 

The title track "The madness" follows an riff-based intro called "No one gets out alive". The opener is a brutal hardcore track that combines faster parts with slow and grooving elements in the mid-part of the song. The next tune, "Caged", can easily keep the high level of the title track. 

A cool bassline starts "Broken faith" - a number with very cool riffs and a murderous groove. The same goes "Resurgence".

Another track I want to mention is "'Til my blood runs dry". The song starts very slow and steamrolls you. It gains speed a bit in the second half which makes it to a raging groove monster with heavy guitars and hardcore shouting.

At the end of the album the thrash influences break through. The mighty "Timebomb" is the longest track on "The madness" and shows quite some parallels with the early Machine Head. It's mainly the guitars that make me think of the four-piece from Oakland, California. The riff in the end could be even a copy of the heavy "Davidian" from Machine Head's debut. But this isn't a problem since "The madness" is full of own ideas and creativity.

"The madness" is a great longplayer from a band I haven't heard before. Time to dig more into the back-catalogue of Hardside.





  1. No one gets out alive
  2. The madness
  3. Caged
  4. Broken faith
  5. Forever
  6. Resurgence
  7. 'Til my blood runs dry
  8. Unloved
  9. Unkown
  10. Timebomb


Label: BDHW

Genre: Hardcore

Release date EU: Already released

CD review HARDSIDE "The madness"
CD review HARDSIDE "The madness"