Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013


CD review BATTLECROSS "Rise to power"

Veröffentlicht am 3. September 2015 von Markus W. in Battleaxe, Thrash Metal, Speed Metal, Death Metal, News, CD Review, Heavy Metal

(6/10) "Rise to power" is the fourth album from Michigan based five-piece Battlecross. 

The new full-length record comes with ten new tracks that are positioned somewhere between thrash and death. So far, so good. Sometimes such a melange works well, but not really when it comes to Battlecross. 

Even though the guys can build on quite some technical capabilities the songs don't really blow me away. The main reason for this is that the tunes sound scattered. It feels like Battlecross combined some fragments songs. This works sometimes better ("Not your slave", "Absence") and sometimes less good ("Scars").

What gives me a hard time too are the vocals. Kyle Gunther's constantly switches between brawly parts and growls. This emphasises the disunity in each of the numbers and it also became annoying after a while. 

But there are good things too to report. The guitars sound really good. Battlecross' songs builds on some really cool riffs - like in the beginning of "Spoiled". 

The second thing I like is the fact, that you can feel that Battlecross likes what they are doing. You can feel the unbound energy they put into their songs; based on dedication for what they are doing. 

All in all there will be for sure metalheads that will love the new album from Battlecross. For me personally, I have to say that there are better releases at the moment.





  1. Scars
  2. Not your slae
  3. Absence
  4. Spoiled
  5. The climb
  6. Blood and lies
  7. Bound by fear
  8. Despised
  9. The path
  10. War ensamble


Label: Metal Blade

Genre: Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: August 21st, 2015

CD review BATTLECROSS "Rise to power"

CD review BATTLEAXE "Power from the universe"

Veröffentlicht am 28. November 2014 von Markus W. in Battleaxe, Heavy Metal, Classic Rock, CD Review, News, Hardrock

(7/10) Battleaxe are into real and unmasked heavy metal. Their music is inspired by bands from the NWoBHM on the one hand and also AC/DC ("Metal rock" and "Shout it out") had an impact on Battleaxe's music. The 'new' album is the re-release of their second record "Power of the universe" that is now published as an 30th anniversary edition. For some of you who might have missed the original album here some reflections on the songs.

The opener "Chopper attack", starting with some helicopter samples, develops slowly into a Priest inspired metal track - based on a cool riff. "Metal rock" is not only a track. It could stand actually as a synonym for the whole album.

A song that stands out a bit is "Fortune lady". It is a slower tune with a dominant bassline that gives the song a pretty good groove. Based on the way how the song is build I was actually reminded to the legendary Dio when I heard it for the first time. The bridge and the chorus are quite melodic which gives the "Fortune lady" a classic metal und expression. And the furious finish is a well done twist too. For menthe highlight on "Power from the universe".

The title trach instead shows the total opposite. Fast and straight fowards the Battleaxe hammers rhis tune into your head. This song is pure heavy metal without any decoration. Same pattern, different song - "Killer woman". A track with an enormous headbanging potential. And a track that is a bonus song on this edition. It's one out of four songs (the other ones are "Radio thnunder", "My love's on fire" and "Love sick man") that have been recorded at Neat Studios in the mid eighties and foiund their way of this special re-release.

This album is 'oldschool' in the best sense of the word. Check it out,





  1. Chopper attack
  2. Metal rock
  3. License to rock
  4. Fortune lady
  5. Shout it out
  6. Over the top
  7. Power from the universe
  8. Make it in America
  9. Killer woman
  10. Radio thunder
  11. My love's on fire
  12. Love sick man


Label: SPV

Genre: Heavy Metal

CD review BATTLEAXE "Power from the universe"

CD review BATTLEAXE "Heavy Metal sanctuary"

Veröffentlicht am 6. März 2014 von Markus W. in Battleaxe, News, CD Review, Heavy Metal

(6/10) Battleaxe is back with a new album. Starting in the eighties as a part of the NWOBHM the band from England released two albums. But in the beginning of the ninties they split up. It took till 2010, when Battleaxe reunited, having still two original members on board - Dave King on vocals and Brian Smith on bass. The band never had a real breakthough and I'm afraid that the new album will not change this.

"Heavy metal sanctuary" which is released via SPV/Steamhammer is number three in the bands discography and the first one with a real metal cover. The songs, twelve in total, are straightforward heavy metal tunes which are OK. But even after listening to the entire album for three times I must say that none of the tracks really stick. I had the feeling that I have heard most of it already earlier. It's not about the fact that the music is really oldschool. I actually prefer this, being from the eighties. But since the songs are not really an acoustical explosion the album you're tempted to use the skip-button halfway.

But there are two songs, which I actually really liked. The fast "Too hot for hell" and the pounding "A prelude to battle/The legions unite" are for me the pearls on this album.

All die hard NWOBHM supporters will probabaly enjoy this album. I personally prefer more the latest releases from Accept and Hell when it comes to this kind of music.





  1. Heavy metal sanctuary
  2. Shock and awe
  3. Hail to the king
  4. Rebel with a cause
  5. Give it more
  6. Too hot for hell
  7. Revolution
  8. A prelude to battle / The legions unite
  9. Spirits of the fallen
  10. Devil calls
  11. Kingdom come
  12. Romeo


Label: Steamhammer / SPV

Genre: Heavy Metal

CD review BATTLEAXE "Heavy Metal sanctuary"