Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

3 doors down

CD review 3 DOORS DOWN "Us and the Night"

Veröffentlicht am 7. März 2016 von Markus W. in 3 Doors Down, Alternative Metal, Alternative Rock, CD Review, News, Hardrock, Rock

(6/10) Five years are a long time and especially in rock biz you might get out of sight as a band. Multiplatin rockers 3 Doors Down did release their latest album "Time of My Life" in 2011 which means that it took them, for various reasons, those five years before coming back with "Us and the Night".

I'm not sure if the five years absence had a very positive effect on the band that had with songs like "When I'm gone" a real alternative rock hit.

"The Broken" is a melodic rock tune that brings you in the right mood for this album. The tune starts with a certain pop appeal, mainly created by some keyboard samples. "Us And the Night" contains mainly easy digestible rock music that is made for the mainstream market.

The trip continue with "In the Dark", a song that's a bit more dynamic and also contains some harsher guitar riffs. One of the best tunes on the record is called "Believe It". It's a bit of a faster one with a catchy chorus, followed by the very rhythm-based "Living in Your Hell". The songs is good, but the swinging melody gives me the impression that 'living in your hell' isn't too bad.

Of course there must be a half-ballad, this time called "Inside of Me". The number is emotional and touching, but it's not a real smasher since it misses an own character.

The absolute downer on "Us And the Night" is called "I Don't Wanna Known". This tune is missing any hardness and I would almost go that far saying that this isn't rock anymore. It's just trivial. Actually 'I don't wanna know' this song. And bad enough, the same goes for the cheesy closer "Fell Fom the Moon". Where are the old 3 Doors Down as we know them from "Away From the Sun"? If you loved this album, keep your hands off "Us And the Night".

Unfortunately "Piece of Me" doesn't bring back the hard rocking guitars either. The next ballad that will create a lighter overflow during some live shows but for the rest it is taken off the shelf.

Last but not least the album is with less than 40 minutes rather short.

I have mixed feelings when it come to this album. "Us And the Night" gives you some positive moments but I must say that I have expected far more. The band obviously wants to reach the 'big crowd' and the songs on this longplayer will for sure support this approach. It feels like 'airplay' has been the aim with most of those tracks.

3 Doors Down moved from hard rockin' alternative band towards an exchangable mainstream group. Risks have been brought back to a minimum and the five-piece plays save. The new album is for sure no grand slam homerun, but sometimes also a bunt enables to score. It's just the question, if fans will love this approach. 

My hope is, that the guys will go back with their next album to the power of a strong hit with bases loaded.





  1. The Broken
  2. In the Dark
  3. Still Alive
  4. Believe It
  5. Living in Your Hell
  6. Inside of Me
  7. I Don't Wanna Know
  8. Pieces of Me
  9. Love is a Lie
  10. Us And the Night
  11. Fell From the Moon


Label: Spinefarm

Genre: Alternative Rock

Release Date EU: March 11th, 2016

CD review 3 DOORS DOWN "Us and the Night"

Tracklist of new 3 DOORS DOWN album unveiled

Veröffentlicht am 30. Januar 2016 von Markus W. in 3 Doors Down, Alternative Metal, Heavy Metal, Modern Metal, Rock, Alternative Rock, News

Grammy Award nominees 3 Doors Down will release a new album on March 11th. "Us and the Night", this is the title of the disc. "In the Dark" is one track on this longplayer and the tune is available for download already.



  1. The Broken
  2. In The Dark
  3. Still Alive
  4. Believe It
  5. Living In Your Hell
  6. Inside Of Me
  7. I Don’t Wanna Know
  8. Pieces of Me
  9. Love Is A Lie
  10. Us And The Night
  11. Fell From The Moon