Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review THE PINEAPPLE THIEF "Your Wilderness"

Veröffentlicht am 10. August 2016 von Markus W. in Pineapple Thief, Bruce Soord, Rock, Prog Rock, Prog Metal, News, CD Review

(9/10) Bruce Soord did it again, releasing a new Pineapple Thief album. Supported by Gavin Harrison (Porcupine Tree) (d), John Halliwell (Supertramp) (clarinet) and Geoffrey Richardson (Caravan) (string quartet) supported the iconic musician on "Your Wilderness", an album that's already at this stage another milestone in progressive rock.

The new longplayer features eight songs that are surprisingly short. Mostly between three to four minutes the album focusses on the essence of prog music rather than extended tracks just for the purpose of prolonging them as much as possible.

Shortly said, it feels like it was a joy for Soord & Co. to make this new album spot-on and I think you can hear this with each of the tunes. The music of Pineapple Thief is rather complex, but it is this embedded ease that builds a golden thread throughout the album. By this "Your Wilderness" becomes special and differs slightly from other similar releases.

Secondly the disc is a very mature one. This longplayer is multilayered without adding unnecessary frills and decoration. As a listener you get the impression of each tone having a meaning. It's this sometimes puristic reduction which makes "Your Wilderness" to a gentle longplayer that still includes some harder sections - something that secures a great flow and a high level of entertainment.

To highlight certain songs doesn't make sense to me since the album in its totality is very well done and a joyful experience with each song playing an own role. The best way listening to this superb longplayer is to go from the first to the last note with closed eyes and a bit of time.

"Your Wilderness" is another sound oasis in a noise polluted world, done by Bruce Soord who even strengthens with this release his strong position in prog rock. Lean back and enjoy this musical kaleidoscope.





  1. In Exile
  2. No Man's Land
  3. Tear you Up
  4. That Shore
  5. Take Your Shot
  6. Fend For Yourself
  7. The Final Thing on Your Mind
  8. Where we Stood



Genre: Prog Rock

Release Date EU: August 12th, 2016

CD review THE PINEAPPLE THIEF "Your Wilderness"